Six tools can draft a college recommendation letter for you, and they split cleanly by job. Brisk Teaching is the fastest if you write inside Google Docs. Knowt gives you a free generator and signs a data privacy agreement. StaffDraft is the only one built to stop you typing the student's name in the first place. ChatGPT is the right answer if your district has already approved it. Schooligio suits a counselor working a whole caseload, and MagicSchool suits the teacher already living there.
This is for the high school teacher who said yes to nine letters in the first week of September and now has to write them before the November 1 early deadlines. It is not for students drafting their own letter for a teacher to sign, which is a different problem with a worse answer.
One thing every vendor page skips: the paragraph you paste in.
How I built this list
The pool was the 33 tools in the directory's collaboration and communication category, plus the general assistants teachers actually reach for, checked against the 126 tools listed across the whole directory. I judged them on four things: whether the draft needs rewriting from scratch, what the vendor's own terms say about the student information you hand over, whether the price survives contact with a school budget, and whether the tool leaves the judgment with the teacher.
Nobody pays to be here. Vendors cannot buy placement, and I left out three of the generators ranking for this search: Teacherbot, EssayGrader and SchoolGPT publish a recommendation-letter generator but do not appear in the directory, which means no independent security assessment and no verified privacy record to quote. I would rather name that gap than fill the list.
Pricing and vendor terms verified September 8, 2026.
What the directory data shows about this category
Of the 33 tools in the collaboration and communication category, 10 declare FERPA compliance and 8 state nothing about it at all. Nine do not say where they host your data. Across the full directory of 126 tools, 36 carry an independent 9ine security assessment and 45 do not state a minimum age.
Read that against what a recommendation letter contains. A letter names a student, describes their academic record, and often mentions a diagnosis, a bereavement or a family circumstance that explains a bad semester. The US Department of Education's Student Privacy Policy Office is blunt about this category of information. Schools generally need written consent from a parent or eligible student before disclosing personally identifiable information from education records. A vendor escapes that requirement only under the school official exception, and only if it performs an institutional service under the school's direct control and follows FERPA's confidentiality rules (FERPA Exceptions).
A free generator you found on Google and used on your own laptop is not operating under your school's direct control. That is the whole issue, and no vendor landing page mentions it.
The six, side by side
| Tool | Best for | Pricing (verified Sept 8, 2026) | Min age | Privacy (vendor-declared) | Data hosted | Independent assessment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brisk Teaching | Drafting inside Google Docs | Free tier; paid quote-based | Not stated | FERPA school official (vendor policy) | Unknown | Yes (9ine) |
| Knowt | A free draft with a signed agreement | Free generator; Ultra $19.99/mo | No minimum | FERPA, COPPA, GDPR | US | Yes (9ine) |
| StaffDraft | Keeping student names out | Free 10 drafts/mo; £6/mo | 18+ | GDPR | UK | No |
| ChatGPT | Districts that already approved it | Free for verified US K-12 educators | Not stated | Not stated in directory | Unknown | Yes (9ine) |
| Schooligio | Counselors with a full caseload | $30/student/mo to $12 | 13+ | FERPA, COPPA, GDPR | US | No |
| MagicSchool | Teachers already on the platform | Free tier; Plus $12.99/mo | Not stated | Not stated in directory | Unknown | Yes (9ine) |
The privacy column is what the vendor declares, not an audit. The assessment column is the independent one. "Not stated" means our record is blank, not that the tool fails anything.
Best for drafting inside Google Docs: Brisk Teaching
Brisk Teaching is the best fit for a classroom teacher writing letters one at a time, because the generator runs in the document where the letter is already going to live. It is a Chrome and Edge extension rather than another website to log into, and its letter of recommendation generator asks for the student's strengths, the context of the letter and your desired length, then puts a few follow-up questions to sharpen the draft. Brisk says the tool will "mirror your tone and phrasing", which matters more here than in any other kind of school writing: a counselor who has read forty of your letters will notice when the forty-first sounds like someone else. It holds a 4.77 rating from 35 reviews in the directory, the highest of the six.
What sets it apart from Knowt is where it works. Knowt sends you to a web form and hands back a block of text; Brisk drafts in the document.
Watch out for: the free plan carries an "Upload limit" on batch feedback, and Brisk publishes no number for it, so a teacher with a stack of letters cannot tell in advance where the ceiling sits. Paid tiers are quote-only.
Best for a teacher writing five to fifteen letters. Not for a district that needs a price before it pilots.
Pricing: free plan with the extension, 20+ tools and "unlimited usage"; Premium and Intelligence are "Custom Pricing" with no public figure (plans, checked September 8, 2026).
Safety: Brisk's privacy notice states it provides the service to schools "as a 'School Official' under FERPA" and that student data "is owned and controlled by the School", with Brisk acting as processor (privacy notice). That framing only holds if your school has actually engaged Brisk. A teacher who installs the extension privately is not covered by it, and the notice does not say whether educator content trains its models. It carries a 9ine assessment; our directory record lists no minimum age and no hosting location.
Best for a free draft with a signed agreement: Knowt
Knowt is the best fit for a teacher who needs a letter today and a paper trail later, because it publishes a free generator and, separately, signs data privacy agreements at no cost. The generator asks for the student's full name, pronouns, institution, your relationship to them and a block of key information, then produces a full letter (Knowt). Knowt states it is "FERPA, COPPA, and NY2D compliant", signs data privacy agreements "for free" within 24 hours, and prices school licenses "as low as $2.75 per student" (school pricing). Of the six, it is the only one whose directory record declares FERPA, COPPA and GDPR, names US hosting, and carries an independent assessment.
Here is the wrinkle worth knowing before you plan around the word free. Knowt's own help center says a free teacher account gets one class, ads, and "no access to AI features", with unlimited AI reserved for Teacher Ultra at $19.99 a month or $120 a year (help center). Our reading is that the recommendation-letter page is a public marketing tool sitting outside the account system, and the in-account AI is the paid product. Useful either way, as long as you do not build a September workflow on a free tier that turns out to be a shop window.
Watch out for: that gap between the free generator and the free account, and the fact that the form asks for the student's full name by design.
Best for a teacher or counselor who wants the agreement signed. Not for anyone who assumed free meant the whole platform.
Pricing: generator free; Teacher Ultra $19.99/month or $120/year; school and district licenses from $2.75 per student (checked September 8, 2026).
Safety: vendor-declared FERPA, COPPA, GDPR and NY2D, US hosting, no minimum age, 9ine assessed. It signs data privacy agreements, which is the document your district will ask for. Your district still has to sign it before a named student goes in.
Best for keeping student names out: StaffDraft
StaffDraft is the best fit for the teacher who has read this far and gone quiet, because it is the only one of the six designed on the assumption that you should not be typing a student's name into an AI tool at all. Its reference tool tells you plainly: "No names. Use notes about performance, effort and development, not student names." It runs a personal identifier check before generating on every tier, and states that "drafts are not retained after processing" (StaffDraft). It also draws a line inside the task itself, telling UCAS users to complete the extenuating-circumstances section directly in the UCAS system, in their own words, rather than with any AI tool.
That last detail is the one I would put on a staff meeting slide. A tool that tells you which part of the job it should not touch is worth more than one that offers to do all of it.
What sets it apart from Brisk and Knowt is the direction of the design. The others make it easy to paste a student's file in. This one makes it awkward on purpose.
Watch out for: it is a UK company hosting in the UK, priced in pounds, and its reference workflow is built around UCAS rather than the Common App. Our directory record lists FERPA and COPPA as not applicable, which is honest for a tool that says it collects no student data, but it is not the FERPA paperwork a US district procurement office wants to see.
Best for a teacher who wants the prose without the disclosure. Not for a district needing a US-hosted vendor with a FERPA agreement.
Pricing: free plan with 10 drafts a month; Individual £6/month (about $8) for unlimited drafts; whole-organization £5/user/month with a 20-user minimum; pay-as-you-go from £2.99 for 20 drafts (checked September 8, 2026). No published US dollar pricing.
Safety: GDPR declared, UK hosted, 18+, states it collects no student data and allows deletion on request. No independent 9ine assessment.
Best for districts that already approved it: ChatGPT for Teachers
ChatGPT is the best fit when your district has already signed for it, because the approved tool you have beats the better tool you have not. OpenAI now offers ChatGPT for Teachers free to verified US K-12 educators through June 2028, states that it is "built to protect student data and help schools meet FERPA requirements", and says that "anything you share with ChatGPT for Teachers is not used to train our models by default" (OpenAI). Anthropic's equivalent, Claude for Teachers, is free for a year for US K-12 educators who sign up by June 30, 2027, and says training is off for verified teacher accounts (Anthropic). We compared the district-facing terms of both in our platform comparison.
The catch is that a general assistant gives you no scaffolding. It will not ask you the six questions a purpose-built generator asks, so the quality of the letter depends entirely on the quality of your prompt, and a thin prompt produces the generic letter that helps no student.
Watch out for: the consumer version is a different product with different terms. A teacher pasting a student's information into a personal ChatGPT account is not covered by the education workspace, and the directory record for ChatGPT declares nothing on FERPA, COPPA, GDPR or hosting.
Best for teachers in a district with an approved workspace. Not for someone who wants the tool to structure the letter for them.
Pricing: free for verified US K-12 educators through June 2028 (checked September 8, 2026).
Safety: verified teacher workspaces are not used for training by default and OpenAI references FERPA. Anthropic protects student information under a K-12 Data Processing Addendum and says whether educational data may be used is set by your district and state policy. Both put the decision back where it belongs, with the district. Our directory record for ChatGPT lists a 9ine assessment, and no declared FERPA, COPPA, GDPR or hosting.
Best for counselors with a full caseload: Schooligio
Schooligio is the best fit for a school counselor writing letters at caseload scale rather than class scale, because recommendation support sits inside a college counseling platform rather than standing alone. Its feature list includes counselor recommendation assistance alongside college planning, application preparation, essay feedback and counselor analytics, and its directory record declares FERPA, COPPA and GDPR with US hosting and a 13+ minimum age. For a counselor with 300 seniors, the letter is one job in a season that also holds deadlines, transcripts and scholarship matching.
What sets it apart from Knowt is scope. Knowt writes the letter; Schooligio runs the season the letter belongs to.
Watch out for: the price is per student, not per counselor. At $30 a month per student, a caseload of 300 is not a purchase a department head makes quietly, and the long commitments that bring it down to $12 lock you in for two years. Its record also shows it collects location data, which is worth a question before signing.
Best for a counseling department buying a system. Not for an individual teacher writing nine letters.
Pricing: free trial; $30 per student per month, falling to $180 for 12 months ($15/month equivalent) and $288 for 24 months ($12/month equivalent) (pricing, checked September 8, 2026).
Safety: vendor-declared FERPA, COPPA and GDPR, US hosted, 13+, collects student data, does not share with third parties, deletion on request. No independent 9ine assessment.
Best for teachers already on the platform: MagicSchool
MagicSchool is the best fit if you already open it every morning, because the marginal cost of using it for one more job is zero. It is the platform most US teachers name first, it holds a 4.74 rating from 19 reviews in the directory, and its free plan covers 80+ teacher tools including report card comments and professional email, with Plus at $12.99 a month or $8.33 a month billed annually (pricing).
One honest caveat, and it is why MagicSchool sits last rather than first for this particular job. Neither MagicSchool's pricing page nor its homepage names a letter of recommendation tool among the tools they list, and the writing tools they do name are report card comments and professional email. With 80+ tools in the library, one may well be in there. Check inside your account before you plan your week around it, because I could not verify it from the public pages in this run.
Watch out for: the directory record declares nothing on FERPA, COPPA, GDPR, hosting or minimum age, which for the most widely adopted tool on this list is a gap worth raising with your district rather than assuming past.
Best for teachers already working inside MagicSchool. Not for a teacher choosing a tool specifically to write letters.
Pricing: free plan; Plus $12.99/month or $8.33/month billed annually; Enterprise by quote (checked September 8, 2026).
Safety: 9ine assessed. FERPA, COPPA, GDPR, hosting and minimum age all not stated in our record; MagicSchool publishes a privacy policy that a district should read before adoption.
The big names people ask about, and why they are not here
Four tools come up in every conversation about this and none of them belong on this list. Khanmigo is built for student tutoring and teacher lesson prep, not correspondence. Quizlet makes study sets. NotebookLM is a research tool grounded in documents you upload, which is the wrong shape for a letter written from memory, though it is useful for summarizing a student's portfolio before you start. Diffit levels reading material. Claude will draft a letter well and, for verified US K-12 teachers, under terms that keep training off, but like ChatGPT it gives you no structure. If you want a broader view of the tools counselors use in application season, we covered the counseling side of this job separately.
UK readers: what US teachers call a recommendation letter is your reference, and the UCAS timetable puts you in the same September crunch.
Four questions that pick your tool
Work down these in order and you will land on one.
1. Has your district approved a tool already? If yes, stop. Use it. An approved workspace with a signed agreement beats a better generator you found yourself, every time. This is the same logic behind the tools that work without a student account.
2. Are you going to type the student's name? If yes, you need a vendor your school has engaged, with an agreement in place. If you would rather not have that conversation in September, pick a tool that works from anonymous notes and put the name in yourself afterward.
3. Do you write one letter at a time, or run a season? A teacher writing nine letters wants the draft where the document is. A counselor with 300 seniors wants the letter inside the system that tracks the deadlines.
4. What is the tool actually doing for you? Outsource the doing, not the thinking. The doing is the transitions, the paragraph shape, the formal register, the fourth version of a sentence you have written a hundred times. The thinking is which two stories about this student are worth the reader's time. If the tool is choosing those, you have handed over the only part of the letter that was worth writing.
What this looks like on a Tuesday afternoon
Take a real case. A junior in your eleventh-grade US History class asks you in mid-September for a letter for an early-action application. She is a B+ student who ran the school's first voter registration drive and had a rough fall semester when her father was ill.
Here is what goes into the tool: "Eleventh-grade history student, B+ average, organized a student-led voter registration drive from scratch including securing administrator approval, recruiting eight volunteers and registering 140 students. Grades dipped one semester due to a family health situation, recovered fully the following term. Tone: warm, specific, formal. 400 words."
Here is what stays out: her name, the school's name, her father's illness in any identifiable form, and the sentence explaining exactly what happened at home. Those go in afterward, in your own words, in your own document. The health detail in particular is the one you should be asking her and her family how they want handled, not asking a chatbot to phrase.
Then read the draft and cut the two sentences that could describe any student. There will be two.
The bottom line
If your district has approved a tool, use that. If it has not and you want a draft today, Knowt gives you a free generator and will sign an agreement; Brisk drafts in the document you are already in; StaffDraft is the one that keeps the student's name out of it. The rest of the category, including what each tool declares about student data, is in the collaboration and communication tools and the wider directory of AI tools for teachers.
The letter is a favor you are doing a seventeen-year-old, and the part that gets her in is the specific thing you noticed that nobody else did. A tool can format that. It cannot notice it.
Dan Fitzpatrick is a Forbes contributor, a three-time bestselling author and the founder of The AI Educator, and has trained more than 150,000 educators across 30+ countries.


