AI Tools

AI Tools for College Professors: 8 Picks for Grading, Oral Checks and Course Prep

Eight AI tools sorted by the college teaching job they do, with prices read from vendor pages on November 1, 2026 and the places where vendors' own privacy pages disagree.

A pink cut-paper graduation cap with a black hand-drawn tassel and a white button, resting above a black line-drawn open book, standing for college teaching.

In brief

For grading papers, EssayGrader and TimelyGrader market to college instructors. To check that students understand their own work, SayVeritas and Vocina record a short spoken defense. Nuubi, Gemini Notebook and Claude support course prep, and Collaboration Tracker shows who wrote what in a group document. Several vendors' own pages contradict each other on retention, free limits or minimum age, so get a data agreement before uploading student work.

Worth noting

  • Match the tool to the job: EssayGrader or TimelyGrader for the grading pile, SayVeritas or Vocina for checking understanding, Collaboration Tracker for group papers.
  • Of the 38 directory tools that list higher education as an audience, 3 carry an independent security assessment and 23 say they collect student data.
  • EssayGrader's free plan covers 100 essays a month at up to 1,000 words each; its Premium plan is $34.99 a month for 800 essays up to 8,000 words (checked November 1, 2026).
  • A 90-student section with one 5-minute oral defense each needs 90 SayVeritas credits or 450 Vocina minutes, about NZD 84 on Vocina's published plans (illustrative plan).
  • Vendor pages disagreed with themselves on audio retention, free-tier size and minimum age, and a vendor's compliance badge does not replace your campus's own data agreement.

For grading papers (marking, in UK English), EssayGrader and TimelyGrader are two grading tools in our directory that market to college instructors. For checking that a student understands the paper they handed in, SayVeritas and Vocina record a short spoken defense. For a large section, Nuubi, Gemini Notebook and Claude each take a different slice of course preparation and student questions, and Collaboration Tracker settles who wrote what in a group document. Your choice depends on the job, so the rest of this post sorts the tools by job and shows what each vendor's own pages say about price and student data.

Why now: some campuses are asking students to explain their work out loud. In an Associated Press story, take-home essays were "coming back perfect" (WCAX, April 22, 2026), and NYU's Panos Ipeirotis told the AP, as carried by Fortune on March 25, 2026, "I don't trust written assignments anymore to be the result of actual thinking." Finals are coming, and the grading pile arrives with them.

Which AI tool fits which college teaching job?

The table pairs each job with one tool and the cost of getting started. Prices were read from each vendor's pricing page on November 1, 2026.

Job Tool Strengths Limitations Price / free tier Privacy to check
Grade papers against your rubric EssayGrader Higher-ed plan with 800 essays a month Free plan caps essays at 1,000 words Free: 100 essays a month. Premium $34.99 a month Vendor says it signs data agreements; AI by OpenAI
Grade papers, video and more TimelyGrader Built for higher education; low entry price No numeric free limit stated; no data agreement found Free to try. Starter $12 a month Terms and privacy policy disagree on age
Oral check on submitted work SayVeritas Rubric-scored spoken defense, instructor approves Retention described two ways 50 free credits. Starter $15 for 250 credits Says it will not train general-purpose models on recordings
Oral check with LMS passback Vocina Moodle and Totara grade passback No FERPA or training statement found Free: 15 minutes a month. Starter NZD 19 Hosted in Sydney, Australia
Course Q&A for a big section Nuubi Canvas link, participation analytics No public pricing Demo or pilot only Says it acts as a school official
Prep from your own readings Gemini Notebook Works from sources you upload Education terms not stated on the page we read Unverified Unverified
Drafting and course design Claude University-wide plan, learning mode No published price Contact sales Says data trains models only with permission
Who wrote what in a group doc Collaboration Tracker Reads Google Docs revision history Vendor's accuracy claim is unverified Free: 3 reports. Educator $8.99 a month Says it does not train AI models on data

How this list was built

The pool is the 38 tools in the AI Educator directory that list higher education as an audience. Of those 38, 3 carry an independent security assessment (see the security assessments page), 14 declare FERPA status as yes, 23 say they collect student data, and only 2 are free. I picked tools by fit for a named job, not by popularity, and no vendor paid for a place. The browse page for the assessment and grading category holds the wider set.

Three exclusions matter. EnlightenAI is a strong grading tool, but its own site describes teachers in grades 3 to 12, so it belongs in our rubric-grading post instead. ChatGPT Edu is left out of the picks because OpenAI's education page would not load for us, so its price and data terms are unverified. Turnitin's AI detector is covered in do AI detectors work, where the evidence on false accusations lives.

Which AI tool grades college papers against your rubric?

Both tools below read each paper against a rubric you supply and draft scores and comments. You review before anything reaches a student.

EssayGrader: best fit for a single-section instructor who wants a free trial

EssayGrader is the best fit for an instructor grading one or two sections because its free plan covers 100 essays a month and its Premium plan targets higher-ed instructors. The vendor says the AI "reads each paper against your rubric - criterion by criterion - and drafts scores and comments" (homepage).

Watch out for: the free plan stops at 1,000 words per essay, about four double-spaced pages, so longer college papers need a paid plan.

Pricing: Free grades 100 essays a month. Premium is $34.99 a month for 800 essays up to 8,000 words (pricing, checked November 1, 2026). Departments get a custom quote.

Safety: the vendor says student submissions are "never used to train AI models," but its privacy policy also says data is used for "reports and data models that we use to improve the Service," and its terms name OpenAI as the AI provider. It says it signs district data agreements and requires users to be 18 or older. Choose something else if your campus bans sending papers to a third-party model.

TimelyGrader: best fit for grading mixed submissions on a tight budget

TimelyGrader is the best fit when papers arrive as documents and videos, since its homepage promises "first-pass suggestions and feedback for papers, videos, and more" (homepage) and the page is titled for higher education.

Watch out for: its terms say users must be at least 13, while its privacy policy says it does not knowingly market to anyone under 18. Ask the vendor which applies.

Pricing: Free to try, with no numeric limit stated. Starter is $12 a month, or $10 a month billed annually (pricing, checked November 1, 2026).

Safety: the terms say TimelyGrader "does not use User Content to train, fine-tune, or otherwise improve its own" models, though third-party providers such as OpenAI may improve theirs. The vendor says a SOC 2 Type II report is available on request. We found no institutional data agreement on its pages, so ask for one before uploading student work.

Which AI tools check that students understand their own work?

An oral defense is harder to hand to a chatbot. Both tools below ask the student to speak, then hand you a transcript and a score to review.

SayVeritas: best fit for a short, rubric-scored defense of a submitted paper

SayVeritas is the best fit when you want every student to answer questions on their own paper, because its flow is: the student records a 4 to 10 minute defense, the AI transcribes it and scores it against your rubric, and the instructor validates the result (homepage). The vendor's home page says "Built for US schools & universities."

Watch out for: its pages describe retention two ways. The security page says audio is kept 30 days by default, while the home page FAQ says audio is deleted after transcription. Its two pages also define a credit differently.

Pricing: 50 free signup credits; Starter is "from $15" for 250 credits and Classroom is $29 for 600 (pricing, checked November 1, 2026).

Safety: the privacy policy says recordings are not used for "training of general-purpose AI models" and that audio is processed by OpenAI and Google Cloud AI. It says a data processing agreement is available for districts. Whether OpenAI or Google may train on that data is unverified.

Vocina: best fit for a Moodle campus that wants scores returned to the gradebook

Vocina's Viva product is the best fit for a Moodle or Totara campus, because the vendor says it supports "grade passback" there and generates questions from each student's uploaded work (FAQ). Instructors see audio, transcript and an understanding score from 1 to 10.

Watch out for: the plan card and FAQ say the free tier is 15 minutes a month, while the pricing-page FAQ says 10 total minutes. We found no statement on AI training or FERPA, so both are unverified.

Pricing: Explore is free for 15 minutes a month; Starter is NZD 19 for 100 minutes; Standard is NZD 65 for 350; Pro is NZD 199 for 1,200 (pricing, checked November 1, 2026).

Safety: the trust page says audio is processed by OpenAI and Google services, hosted in Sydney, Australia, with deletion on request and an anonymous learner ID option. A US campus should ask where the recordings travel and for a data agreement.

Which AI tools help with course prep and a large section?

Nuubi: best fit for a big lecture course that needs a guided discussion space

Nuubi is the best fit for a large Canvas course because it adds course-aware Q&A and discussion with participation analytics for the instructor, linked through LTI 1.3 (FAQ). Its site says it is "designed for higher education courses."

Watch out for: no price is public, and the vendor says it has not completed an independent SOC 2 audit.

Pricing: no public pricing; the site offers a demo or pilot (checked November 1, 2026).

Safety: the vendor says course materials "are never used to train AI models," hosts only in the United States, and says it acts as a "school official" under the college's direction (privacy). It keeps institutional data for eight years by default, so negotiate that.

Gemini Notebook: best fit for building study guides from your own readings

Gemini Notebook, the tool Google renamed from NotebookLM (the old address redirects to the new one), is the best fit for turning your syllabus and readings into summaries and questions, since it describes itself as a tool that can "analyze your sources" (Google). The directory shows a 4.84 rating from 90 reviews.

Watch out for: the page we read did not state who can use it or what happens to uploaded content. Pricing, Workspace for Education availability and training terms are unverified; ask your campus IT office what is switched on.

Claude: best fit for drafting and course design on a campus with a license

Claude is the best fit for open-ended drafting and course design, and Anthropic markets a university-wide plan for students, faculty and staff, plus a learning mode that "asks questions that help you find the answers yourself" (Anthropic). The vendor says, "We only use data to improve our models when you give permission."

Watch out for: no price is published; the page says to contact the education team (checked November 1, 2026). Our view is that it is a general assistant, not a grader.

Which AI tool shows who wrote what in a group project?

Collaboration Tracker: best fit for shared Google Docs in team assignments

Collaboration Tracker is the best fit for a team paper written in Google Docs, because it is a Chrome extension that reads revision history and produces a per-student contribution report you can export as PDF, CSV or Word (homepage).

Watch out for: it needs desktop Chrome, and its "over 95% accuracy" claim is the vendor's own, so treat it as unverified. Its home page says no account is needed while its privacy page says Google sign-in is required.

Pricing: Free gives 3 reports; Educator is $8.99 a month for 100 grading reports (checked November 1, 2026).

Safety: the privacy page says "we do not use your data for advertising, analytics, or training AI models." We found no FERPA statement, so it is unverified.

How do you choose?

Answer four questions in order and stop at the first that settles it.

  1. Is the problem the grading pile or the doubt about authorship? The pile points to EssayGrader or TimelyGrader. Doubt points to SayVeritas or Vocina.
  2. Does your campus have a learning management system (LMS) integration need? Moodle with grade passback points to Vocina. Canvas points to Nuubi.
  3. Is the work written in Google Docs by teams? If yes, Collaboration Tracker answers it.
  4. Will student names ever enter the tool? If yes, stop and get your campus approval first. The next sections explain why.

What does a plan look like for a 90-student section?

This is an illustrative plan, not a record of a trial. Take an introductory sociology section of 90 students who each submit a three-page response paper in week 12.

  • Grading: 90 papers of about 900 words fit EssayGrader's free plan, which allows 100 essays at up to 1,000 words. A second assignment in the same month would need Premium at $34.99.
  • Oral check: ask each student for one 5-minute defense. On SayVeritas that is 90 credits, so the 50 free credits plus a $15 Starter pack of 250 would cover it, though the pricing page says online credit purchases are "coming soon." On Vocina, 15 free minutes equal about three short assessments by the vendor's own estimate, so 90 five-minute defenses need 450 minutes, which is Standard (NZD 65 for 350 minutes) plus one 100-minute pack (NZD 19), NZD 84 in total.
  • Your role: you set the rubric, review every score before release, and decide what a failed defense means. The tool drafts; you decide.

What did the vendors' own pages disagree about?

Reading each vendor's pricing, privacy and security pages in one sitting turned up a pattern: several pages contradict each other. SayVeritas describes audio retention two ways. Vocina gives two free-tier sizes. TimelyGrader gives two minimum ages. EnlightenAI's data agreement exhibit says "No Student Data collected at this time" though its student data policy lists grades and student work.

Other vendors headline compliance, such as the "Fully FERPA Compliant" line on EssayGrader's privacy policy page. That matters because the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) does not certify tools. The US Department of Education's student privacy office says the school official exception applies when a provider performs a service the school would otherwise do itself, is under the school's "direct control" over use and maintenance of records, and uses records "only for authorized purposes" (guidance dated February 2014; check for newer guidance; the conditions come from 34 CFR § 99.31(a)(1)(i)). A vendor's "FERPA compliant" badge does not establish those conditions for you. Your campus has to show that control, usually through a contract, so check with your privacy office before uploading student work. For the broader picture, see FERPA-compliant AI tools for teachers and AI-resistant assessment tools.

The bottom line

Pick the job first. Use EssayGrader or TimelyGrader to cut the grading pile, SayVeritas or Vocina to hear students explain their own work, Nuubi, Gemini Notebook or Claude for course support, and Collaboration Tracker for team papers. Whatever you pick, get the data agreement signed before a single student paper goes in. Browse the full set in the directory.

Dan Fitzpatrick is the founder of The AI Educator and AI Educator Tools and a Forbes contributor.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best AI tool for grading college papers?

EssayGrader and TimelyGrader are the two grading tools in our directory that market to college instructors, and the better fit depends on volume. EssayGrader's free plan covers 100 essays a month at up to 1,000 words, with Premium at $34.99 a month ([pricing](https://www.essaygrader.ai/pricing)). TimelyGrader starts at $12 a month ([pricing](https://www.timelygrader.ai/pricingandplans)).

How can a professor check that a student understands the paper they submitted?

Ask for a short spoken defense, which SayVeritas and Vocina both support. SayVeritas says the student records a 4 to 10 minute defense that the AI transcribes and scores against your rubric ([SayVeritas](https://www.sayveritas.com/)). Vocina generates questions from the student's uploaded work and returns an understanding score from 1 to 10 ([FAQ](https://viva.vocina.ai/faq)).

Can lecturers use these tools for marking as well as grading?

Yes, the tools do the same job whatever the local term, though UK lecturers should check the data-hosting location first. Vocina says it hosts in Sydney, Australia ([trust page](https://viva.vocina.ai/trust)), and Nuubi says it hosts only in the United States ([privacy](https://www.nuubi.com/signin/privacy)).

Is it FERPA-safe to upload student papers to an AI grading tool?

No tool is FERPA-safe by itself; your campus has to meet the conditions. The US Department of Education's student privacy guidance says the school official exception requires the provider to be under the school's direct control over records and to use them only for authorized purposes ([guidance, February 2014](https://studentprivacy.ed.gov/sites/default/files/resource_document/file/Student%20Privacy%20and%20Online%20Educational%20Services%20%28February%202014%29_0.pdf)).

Are there free AI tools for college instructors?

Yes, several have limited free plans. EssayGrader gives 100 essays a month, SayVeritas gives 50 free signup credits, Vocina gives 15 assessment minutes a month, and Collaboration Tracker gives 3 reports (all checked November 1, 2026 on each vendor's pricing page). Those caps run out quickly in a large section.

D
Dan Fitzpatrick

Delivered training to 150K+ educators | Founder of The AI Educator and AI Educator Tools | Forbes Contributor | International Keynote Speaker | 4 x #1 Bestselling Author

Cite this article

Dan Fitzpatrick. (November 1, 2026). AI Tools for College Professors: 8 Picks for Grading, Oral Checks and Course Prep. AI Educator Blog.

https://blog.aieducator.tools/posts/ai-tools-for-college-professors
Links and sources in this article (24)

Collected from links in the article text. Inclusion is not independent verification of a provider’s claims.