The best AI tools for students with dysgraphia take the pencil out of one job at a time: Yap or Read&Write to dictate and predict words, Otter.ai to capture notes, Kami to fill in worksheets on screen, and Seesaw or Snorkl to answer aloud. None of them treats dysgraphia, and the IEP or 504 team decides which ones count as accommodations.
Which AI tools fit a student with dysgraphia, side by side?
Six tools, six jobs. Prices and conditions were checked at the vendors' own pages on October 18, 2026, unless a row says otherwise.
| Tool | The job it does | Best for | Price (checked October 18, 2026) | Privacy note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Read&Write | Dictation, word prediction and spelling support inside a toolbar | A student who can type but loses the thought while spelling | Free to K-12 teachers; school plans from $2.75 a seat, footnote unexplained | Vendor lists COPPA, FERPA, GDPR and ISO 27001 |
| Yap | Dictation into any app on a computer or phone | An older student who needs to draft in any document | 3 days free, then $6.90 a month or $69 a year | Vendor says speech is recognized on the device and audio is never uploaded |
| Otter.ai | Live transcript of a lesson, searchable afterward | A student who cannot listen and write at the same time | Free 300 minutes a month; Pro $8.33 a month billed annually | Trains its AI on de-identified transcripts; minimum age 13 |
| Kami | Turns a worksheet or PDF into a document students mark up on screen | A class that still hands out paper worksheets | Basic free; Teacher plan $149, period not stated | Directory lists US hosting; FERPA and COPPA declared |
| Seesaw | Lets students respond with voice, drawing, photos or video | Grades K-6 | School or district license only; no prices published | Vendor lists SOC 2, GDPR, FERPA and COPPA |
| Snorkl | Records a spoken, drawn explanation and returns AI feedback | A student who understands the math or science but cannot write it up | Free teacher plan with limited activities; school pricing by quote | Vendor says COPPA and FERPA approved; training use not stated |
Which question should decide the choice?
Four questions sort the six. This is our editorial view, not a vendor claim.
- Where does the pencil get in the way? Getting ideas out (dictation or word prediction), filling in someone else's page (Kami), keeping up with a lesson (Otter.ai), or proving understanding (Seesaw, Snorkl). A student rarely needs all four.
- Is the skill being assessed the writing, or the thinking? If the task is to show the causes of a war, speech can carry it. If the task is to write a paragraph by hand, a dictation tool changes the task, and that decision belongs to the team that wrote the plan.
- Who owns the account? Read&Write and Snorkl give a teacher a free start. Seesaw is a school license. Yap and Otter.ai are individual accounts, which means a family or school must decide who pays and who holds the recordings.
- Where does the voice go? Yap says it stays on the device. Otter.ai keeps a transcript and trains on a de-identified version. Check before the first recording, using our data check for tools a school can approve.
What does the evidence say about dictation for writing?
Reading Rockets lists the signs: illegible writing even when the student takes time, slow or labored copying even when the result is neat, and "content that doesn't reflect the student's other language skills" (Reading Rockets). That last sign is why a tool can help: the ideas are there and the hand is the bottleneck.
For accommodations, Understood suggests a scribe or speech-to-text so a student can dictate test answers and writing assignments, plus a laptop or audio recorder in class and typed copies of notes (Understood). Reading Rockets adds that speech recognition takes time to train to a student's voice.
The research is thinner than the marketing. A 2022 exploratory study in the Journal of Special Education Technology found that students with high-incidence disabilities in grades 4 to 8 felt positive about speech recognition, that it was especially helpful for students who struggled with spelling, and that it supported drafting for some students but not all (Ok and colleagues). We could not see its sample size. An older review on ERIC, undated but citing work up to 2005, reports that students with learning disabilities made fewer word errors dictating essays than handwriting them, and that checking and correcting misrecognized words tired some users (Gardner). Neither study tests the six tools below.
Federal law sets the frame. The regulations define an assistive technology device as "any item, piece of equipment, or product system, whether acquired commercially off the shelf, modified, or customized" that increases or improves a child's functional capabilities (34 CFR 300.5), and the IEP team must "consider whether the child needs assistive technology devices and services" (34 CFR 300.324). The services definition covers evaluating the child's needs and training the child, family and staff (34 CFR 300.6). A free app does not replace that evaluation. Our posts on writing 504 plans and IEP writing cover the paperwork.
Is Read&Write the right toolbar for dictation and word prediction?
Read&Write is the best fit for a student who types but loses the thought while hunting for a spelling, because the vendor's page lists dictation ("no typing required") and word prediction that "suggests words and corrects spelling as students type" (Everway).
Texthelp, the original maker, now sits under the Everway name. Our directory rating is 4.5 from 2 reviews, and the product carries an independent 9ine security assessment on our record.
Watch out for: The page says K-12 teachers get Read&Write free, but it states no student free tier, so a student's own access depends on a school or district plan. The "from $2.75 per seat" price carries a footnote the page does not explain.
Pricing: Free for K-12 teachers; school plans from $2.75 per seat (Everway, checked October 18, 2026).
Safety: The vendor lists COPPA, FERPA, GDPR, ISO/IEC 27001 and SOPPA compliance and links a trust center. That is the vendor's claim. Ask your district for its data agreement before students sign in.
Choose something else if your student needs dictation on a personal device outside school accounts. Try Yap below.
Can Yap carry dictation into any document?
Yap is the best fit for an older student who needs to dictate into whatever app the class uses, because the vendor says it types spoken words wherever the cursor sits and recognizes speech on the device itself (Yap).
The page lists Mac, Windows, iPhone and Android on one subscription. Our directory lists a minimum age of 13 and US hosting, and it has no reviews for Yap yet.
Watch out for: The pricing on the page is individual, and it states no school plan or classroom controls. A student who dictates a first draft still has to read it back for misheard words.
Pricing: Three free days, then $6.90 a month or $69 a year (Yap, checked October 18, 2026).
Safety: The vendor says "your voice never leaves your device," "no audio uploads" and "nothing stored on any server." The page states no age requirement, so rely on our directory's 13-plus entry and read the privacy policy.
Choose something else if the student is in elementary school or the school needs an admin console. Read&Write or Seesaw fit better.
Can Otter.ai keep a student with dysgraphia up with the lesson?
Otter.ai is the best fit for a student who cannot listen and take notes at once, because it turns a spoken lesson into a searchable transcript the student can reread (Otter).
Our directory rating is 4.2 from 5 reviews, and it holds an independent 9ine assessment on record. Otter was built for meetings, and the pricing page we read describes no school use, so using it in a classroom is an adaptation.
Watch out for: Otter's privacy policy lists "training our proprietary AI technology on de-identified audio recordings and on transcriptions" as a purpose. A classroom recording catches other students' voices, and the terms make you "solely responsible" for notices and consent (terms). Our post on AI note takers for school meetings covers the consent check.
Pricing: Basic is free with 300 minutes a month and 30 minutes per conversation; Pro lists $8.33 per user per month on the annual plan; students and teachers with a .edu email get 20% off Pro on individual accounts (Otter, checked October 18, 2026). The page also shows lower asterisked prices tied to an India-issued card, so confirm what you will be charged.
Safety: The terms set a minimum age of 13 (terms), and the privacy policy says the service is "not targeted at children." Get written permission before recording a class.
Choose something else if the school bans recording. Typed copies of the teacher's notes, which Understood lists as an accommodation, do the same job with no recording.
Does Kami make a paper worksheet usable for a student who cannot write on it?
Kami is the best fit for a class that still hands out paper worksheets, because it turns a static file into a document students mark up on screen, according to its site.
Here the evidence stops short. The homepage mentions annotation tools and "Understand" tools. The pricing page lists "Voice Typing" under Accessibility without saying which plan includes it, and the pages we read do not say outright that students can type into a PDF. Test a real worksheet before you depend on it. Our directory rating is 5.0 from 2 reviews, with a 9ine assessment on record.
Watch out for: The pricing page shows the Teacher plan at "USD$149" with no billing period beside it, and its Pro and Work prices differ between the plan cards and the comparison table.
Pricing: Basic is free ("10+ essential tools"); Teacher is $149; School or District is quoted; new teacher accounts get a 30-day Teacher trial (Kami, checked October 18, 2026).
Safety: Our directory lists US hosting and "yes" for FERPA and COPPA. Those are declarations we did not verify. Ask for the district data agreement.
Choose something else if the worksheet can simply be a shared document. A word processor with dictation does the job with fewer moving parts.
Is Seesaw a way for young students to answer without writing?
Seesaw is the best fit for students in grades K-6 who understand the lesson but cannot yet record it on paper, because students respond with "photos, videos, drawing, and voice" (Seesaw).
It describes itself as built for K-6, with portfolios for PreK-6. Our directory rating is 5.0 from 3 reviews, with a 9ine assessment on record.
Watch out for: Seesaw's pricing page says "licenses are only available for schools or districts" and does not offer paid teacher licenses, so a single teacher cannot buy it. It also lists no prices, and the homepage does not say what a free teacher account includes.
Pricing: No public prices; contact sales (Seesaw, checked October 18, 2026).
Safety: The vendor says it is "SOC 2, GDPR, FERPA, and COPPA certified." That is its claim. The page does not say whether student data trains AI.
Choose something else if the student is past grade 6. Snorkl suits older students.
Does Snorkl let a student explain a problem aloud instead of writing it up?
Snorkl is the best fit for a student who understands the math or science but cannot write it up, because students "record their voice and visually represent their thinking on a simple whiteboard" and the tool returns AI feedback (Snorkl).
Teacher testimonials on the page mention 3rd grade, 5th grade and high school. Our directory rating is 4.75 from 12 reviews, with a 9ine assessment on record.
Watch out for: It assesses reasoning, not writing. A student whose plan calls for writing practice still needs a dictation route for essays. Free teachers get "Limited" activities.
Pricing: Free teacher plan with unlimited classes, AI feedback and the Snorkl Library, with limited activities; Premium for schools and districts by quote (Snorkl, checked October 18, 2026).
Safety: The page says "COPPA and FERPA approved" and says nothing about training on student data. Read the privacy policy before students record.
Choose something else if the goal is a written product. Use Read&Write or Yap.
What about the tools a student already has?
Google Docs voice typing is free, works in Chrome, Edge and Safari, and runs on the browser's speech service, which means your browser decides how speech is processed and an administrator can switch the feature off (Google). Its voice commands work only in English. Check whether your district has switched it off before you buy anything else. Microsoft says Immersive Reader is free inside Microsoft 365 apps, but that is a reading tool, and the Microsoft page we read does not mention dictation (Microsoft). We could not verify Microsoft's Dictate feature, Co:Writer or Dragon this run, so we leave them out.
Where does our directory fall short on dysgraphia?
We scanned the descriptions and feature lists of all 143 tools in the aieducator.tools directory on October 18, 2026. One mentions dysgraphia (Yap). One mentions word prediction (Read&Write). Four mention dictation or voice input in some form. Sixteen mention handwriting, and every one of the sixteen is a teacher-side tool for grading or scanning other people's handwriting or capturing teacher notes. Not one is built for the student who struggles to produce it.
That gap is the original observation here: the market has built far more to read children's handwriting than to spare them from producing it. It also means most of our picks are older assistive technology with AI recently added. The speech recognition is the part that matters.
We left out Miss Formula, an image-to-equation converter, because our directory lists a minimum age of 18. We left out Gemini Notebook and ChatGPT because neither is built for this job.
What does a worked example look like in a Grade 7 social studies class?
This is a plan, not a result: no one has run it for this post. The student has dysgraphia documented in an IEP. The task is a one-page response to a primary source.
- Check the plan. Confirm the IEP team has listed speech-to-text or typed notes. If it has not, ask the team to consider it under the assistive technology provision above.
- Take notes without the pencil. Hand the student typed notes from the lesson. If the school permits recording, a transcript is the second option.
- Draft by voice. The student dictates the response into a document and reads it aloud once to catch misheard words.
- Revise by typing. The student fixes spelling with word prediction or spell check.
- Grade the history. Score the argument and the evidence, not the handwriting.
- Review with the team. At the next meeting, bring the dictated draft and a handwritten sample from the same student, and let the team decide what stays in the plan.
What is the short answer?
Start with the tool the student already has: Google Docs voice typing, if your district allows it. Add Read&Write if the student needs word prediction, Yap for dictation on a personal device, Otter.ai only with recording permission, and Seesaw or Snorkl for answers that never touch the page. Keep handwriting instruction with the student's occupational therapist (our post on tools for occupational therapists covers it). If the student also struggles to read, see our dyslexia post. Browse the special education and accessibility tools in the directory for more.
Dan Fitzpatrick is the founder of The AI Educator and AI Educator Tools. Prices and conditions were checked on October 18, 2026; vendors change them often.


