AI Tools

7 MagicSchool Alternatives for Teachers in 2026: What Each One Does Better

Most teachers use three of MagicSchool's eighty tools. Here are seven alternatives that each beat it at one specific job, with dated pricing, declared FERPA and COPPA status, and an honest note on when you should stay put.

A pink signpost with three boards pointing in different directions, representing alternatives to MagicSchool

In brief

The best MagicSchool alternative is usually not one product but three. Brisk Teaching is the strongest free option and works inside Google Docs and Classroom; Diffit beats MagicSchool's text leveller for reading levels and multilingual learners; EnlightenAI grades written work against your rubric with a teacher in the loop; SchoolAI is the pick when students will use AI directly, because teachers monitor every conversation in real time; Glint handles special education visuals; Toddle is the whole-school platform; and Knowt is the closest single swap, matching most of MagicSchool's assessment and student features while declaring FERPA, COPPA and GDPR compliance with US hosting. Compliance is the real differentiator: of the 41 tools in the AI Educator directory's lesson planning and resource creation category, only 5 carry an independent 9ine security assessment and 9 do not state where they host data. Stay with MagicSchool if your district has already signed an enterprise agreement or you genuinely use the breadth.

Worth noting

  • Most teachers use three of MagicSchool's 80+ teacher tools, so the useful question is which three jobs you actually do, not which product replaces the whole suite.
  • Brisk Teaching is the only genuinely free alternative on this list: $0 for individual teachers with 20+ tools and unlimited usage, though school and district plans are quote-based (verified 4 September 2026).
  • Knowt is the closest single swap and the cleanest procurement case, declaring FERPA, COPPA and GDPR compliance, US hosting, no minimum age and an independent 9ine assessment, at $149.99 a year against MagicSchool Plus at about $99.96.
  • Of the 41 tools in the AI Educator directory's lesson planning and resource creation category, only 5 carry an independent 9ine security assessment, 6 declare nothing on FERPA, COPPA or GDPR, and 9 do not state where they host data.
  • Procurement, not features, is the most common reason schools leave MagicSchool: 86% of US districts now run a formal vetting procedure for free or unapproved tools, according to CoSN's U.S. State of EdTech Leadership 2026.
  • SchoolAI's free tier is five Space launches per year, which is a demo rather than a free plan, and it is the only tool on this list whose directory record declares third-party data sharing.
  • Stay with MagicSchool if your district has already signed an enterprise data privacy agreement, if you genuinely use the breadth across planning, rubrics, IEPs and communication, or if the alternative is not on your approved tools list.

MagicSchool is not a bad product. That is exactly why most searches for an alternative go wrong.

Teachers type "MagicSchool alternatives" expecting to find something better at everything. What they actually need is narrower. You are probably using three of MagicSchool's eighty teacher tools, and for each of those three there is something that does the job better, cheaper, or with a privacy record your district will approve without a six-week review.

This post is for teachers and school leaders who already use MagicSchool and want to know what else exists. If you have never tried it, you do not need this list yet.

Why teachers look for a MagicSchool alternative

Three reasons come up again and again, and only one of them is about features.

The district said no, or said not yet. This is the big one. A platform carrying 80+ teacher tools and 50+ student tools is a large vetting surface, and vetting is now standard practice: 86% of US districts have a procedure for reviewing free or unapproved tools, according to CoSN's U.S. State of EdTech Leadership 2026. A single-purpose tool clears that process faster than a suite.

You use three tools out of eighty. Breadth looks like value on a pricing page. In a real week it means scrolling past seventy-seven things you never open.

The free tier stops where you need it. MagicSchool's free plan gives you the tools but caps generations, keeps no output history and locks the student tools behind Plus.

Most teachers do not need a MagicSchool alternative. They need three tools and the confidence to stop paying for seventy-seven they never open.

How I built this list

The pool was the 41 tools in the directory's lesson planning and resource creation category, plus every tool in the directory that covers a job MagicSchool lists among its own features: planning, assessment, rubrics, IEP writing, text levelling, communication and student-facing chat.

I judged each on five things: whether it beats MagicSchool at one clearly named job, whether it declares its compliance position, whether the price is honest about what the free tier actually does, whether teachers are using it rather than trialling it, and whether it keeps the thinking with the teacher.

Nobody pays to appear here. Vendors cannot buy placement in the directory or in this post, and two tools that would otherwise have made the cut are not here: Teacher's Buddy and Zippy, both capable, both declaring nothing at all on FERPA, COPPA, GDPR, data hosting or minimum age. I am not saying they are unsafe. I am saying I cannot tell you either way, and neither can your district.

I also left out Wayground, the platform formerly called Quizizz, which shows up on most "MagicSchool alternative" lists. It is good. It is not a MagicSchool alternative. It is a Kahoot alternative, and pretending otherwise helps nobody.

Pricing and compliance details verified 4 September 2026.

What the directory data actually shows

The numbers here come from our own records for the 41 tools in the lesson planning category, and they are less reassuring than the marketing suggests.

Only 5 of the 41 carry an independent security assessment from 9ine. Six declare nothing at all on FERPA, COPPA or GDPR. Nine do not state where they host data, against 17 that confirm US hosting. Across the whole directory of 90 tools, 37% declare FERPA compliance and 32% declare COPPA.

One of those blanks is MagicSchool's own record, which is a fair thing to own publicly. Our card shows "not stated" for FERPA, COPPA, GDPR and hosting. MagicSchool's own FAQ page says it is "FERPA and COPPA compliant", holds SOC, GDPR, ESSA and TrustEd Apps certifications, and that data "is stored and processed in U.S.-based, FERPA-aligned data centers". So the gap is in our record, not in the product, and it is being fixed. I mention it because you should apply exactly this scepticism to every table you read, including mine.

The seven alternatives at a glance

The privacy column below is what each vendor declares, not an audit. The independent assessment column is the audited one, and you can see the full set on the security assessments page.

Tool Best for Pricing Grades Min age Privacy (declared) Data hosted Independent assessment
Knowt Closest all-in-one swap Freemium All grades No minimum FERPA, COPPA, GDPR US Yes (9ine)
Brisk Teaching Working inside Google Docs Free for teachers Not stated Not stated None declared Unknown Yes (9ine)
Diffit Reading levels Freemium Not stated Not stated None declared Unknown No
EnlightenAI Grading written work Freemium K-5 to higher ed 8+ FERPA, COPPA, GDPR UK Yes (9ine)
SchoolAI Monitored student chat Freemium All grades No minimum FERPA, COPPA (GDPR in progress) US No
Glint Special education visuals Freemium All 18+ FERPA, COPPA, GDPR US No
Toddle Whole-school planning Paid All Not stated None declared Unknown Yes (9ine)

Best all-in-one swap: Knowt

If you want one tool to replace MagicSchool rather than three, this is the one to look at first.

Knowt runs auto-graded assessments, monitored AI chat activities, flashcards with spaced repetition, live class games and around 35 teacher tools, plus a study library aimed at AP, SAT, IB and GCSE. It imports from Quizlet and Kahoot, which matters more than it sounds when you have four years of material sitting in one of them.

What sets it apart from MagicSchool is not the feature list. It is the paperwork. Knowt declares FERPA, COPPA and GDPR compliance, states US hosting, sets no minimum age, and carries an independent 9ine assessment. That is the shortest procurement conversation on this page.

Watch out for: the free plan is student-shaped. Notes, flashcards and study modes are free; the teacher tools you actually want sit behind Ultra. And Ultra is not cheap next to what you are leaving.

Best for teachers who want one login and a clean compliance record. Not for anyone whose main job is lesson planning rather than assessment.

Pricing: free plan available. Teacher Ultra $12.49 per month billed annually ($149.99 a year) or $24.99 monthly. School bulk pricing exists but is not published. For comparison, MagicSchool Plus is $8.33 per user per month billed annually, so about $99.96 a year, or $12.99 monthly (verified 4 September 2026).

Safety: FERPA, COPPA and GDPR declared; no minimum age; hosted in the US; independently assessed by 9ine; collects student data, does not share it with third parties, deletion on request.

Best for working inside Google Docs and Classroom: Brisk Teaching

Brisk wins on a single design decision: it comes to you rather than making you go to it.

It is a Chrome and Edge extension, so it sits on top of the Google Doc, the Classroom assignment or the PDF you already have open. Highlight a student's essay, generate glow-and-grow feedback, level the text, build a rubric, inspect the writing history to see how a draft was actually produced. No new tab, no copying output back and forth. It carries a 9ine assessment and 35 reviews averaging 4.77 in the directory, which is the widest teacher feedback base of anything on this list.

Against MagicSchool, the difference is friction. MagicSchool makes you visit a website, pick a tool, paste your text and paste the result back. Brisk removes all four steps.

Watch out for: two things. It is an extension, so if your district locks browser extensions you are finished before you start. And it ships AI writing detection, which I do not recommend to anyone. Detection tools are unreliable, they damage trust with students, and they let a school pretend it has an answer when it does not. Use the rest of Brisk and leave that feature alone.

Best for teachers living in Google Workspace or Microsoft 365. Not for locked-down devices or anyone wanting a standalone platform.

Pricing: genuinely free for individual teachers, $0, with 20+ tools, unlimited usage and upload limits on batch feedback. School and district plans (Premium, Intelligence) are quote-based with no public figure (verified 4 September 2026).

Safety: our record shows FERPA, COPPA, GDPR and hosting as not stated; Brisk publishes a privacy notice and holds a 9ine assessment. Ask for the data privacy agreement before a district rollout.

Best for reading levels and differentiation: Diffit

Diffit does one job, and it does it better than MagicSchool's text leveller.

Feed it a topic, a PDF, a URL or a YouTube video, and it returns the passage at multiple reading levels with vocabulary, comprehension questions and scaffolds, translated into any of 70+ languages. That last part is why it turns up so often in classrooms with English learners. You can set depth-of-knowledge levels rather than accepting whatever the model produces.

MagicSchool levels text you give it. Diffit builds the whole resource around the source material and lets you adjust the cognitive demand, which is a different and more useful thing.

Watch out for: the free plan cannot export to Google Docs, Slides, Forms or Microsoft, which is most of the value for a teacher with a period five to prepare. Text input length is capped and standards alignment is paid-only. Our record is also blank on FERPA, COPPA, GDPR and hosting.

Best for mixed-ability classes and multilingual learners. Not for anyone needing planning, grading (marking, if you are reading this in the UK) or admin in the same tool.

Pricing: free plan with the export restrictions above. Diffit for Schools is a flat-rate annual subscription tiered by school size, with no public figure; individual teacher licences exist but are not priced publicly (verified 4 September 2026).

Safety: no FERPA, COPPA or GDPR declaration in our record and no independent assessment. Check the vendor's privacy page before student-facing use.

Best for grading written work: EnlightenAI

MagicSchool gives feedback. EnlightenAI grades against your rubric and keeps you in the loop while it does it.

The workflow is the point: upload a set of student writing, it scores each piece against the rubric you supply, you review and adjust before anything reaches a student, and you get class-level insights showing where the cohort actually broke down. One-click reteaching materials come out of those insights. It integrates with Clever, Google Classroom and Canvas.

Compared with Brisk's batch feedback, EnlightenAI is built for the moment you have 90 essays and a deadline, rather than for the single document in front of you.

Watch out for: it hosts in the UK. For most US districts that is a question on the form rather than a blocker, but it is a question, and you should raise it before the pilot rather than after. It is also narrow: writing and rubric grading, not a planning suite.

Best for English, humanities and science teachers with heavy written assessment loads. Not for early elementary or anyone wanting lesson planning in the same place.

Pricing: freemium. No public per-teacher price on the vendor site; school and district pricing is quote-based (verified 4 September 2026).

Safety: FERPA, COPPA and GDPR all declared; minimum age 8+; hosted in the UK; independently assessed by 9ine; collects name, email and usage analytics, does not share with third parties, deletion on request.

Best for student-facing AI with teacher oversight: SchoolAI

This is the head-to-head. SchoolAI competes directly with MagicSchool's 50+ student tools, and it wins on one thing: you can see the conversation as it happens.

Teachers build a Space, which is a bounded AI experience with the guardrails set by the teacher, and then watch student conversations in real time with alerts for anything that needs attention. There are 200,000+ prebuilt Spaces, support for 16 subject areas, dyslexia-friendly mode and multi-language support, and rostering through Google Classroom and Clever.

MagicSchool's student tools are a suite of tools students use. SchoolAI is one conversation a teacher supervises. If your worry about student-facing AI is what happens when you are not looking, that difference is the whole argument.

Watch out for: two honest flags. The free tier is five Space launches per year, which is a demo, not a free plan. And SchoolAI's record is the only one on this list that declares it shares data with third parties, alongside collecting location data. GDPR is listed as in progress. None of that is disqualifying, but it belongs in your review.

Best for schools introducing student-facing AI deliberately. Not for teachers wanting an unlimited free tool.

Pricing: free trial capped at five Space launches a year. Pro and Scale tiers are demo-only with no public pricing (verified 4 September 2026).

Safety: FERPA and COPPA declared, GDPR in progress, SOC 2 Type 2 claimed on the vendor pricing page; no minimum age; hosted in the US; no independent 9ine assessment; collects student data and declares third-party sharing.

Best for special education visuals: Glint

MagicSchool writes the IEP. Glint makes the thing the child actually uses.

It produces visual supports, social stories and task analyses, which is the daily work of special education teachers and speech and language therapists rather than the paperwork around it. It is also the most accessible tool on this list by some distance: screen reader compatible, keyboard navigation, dyslexia-friendly mode, adjustable text size, high contrast, multiple languages and an offline mode. Seven accessibility features, in a category where 31 of the 41 tools list any at all. If special education is your main job, our review of AI tools for SEND and special education goes wider than this one entry.

Watch out for: minimum age 18+, so this is a teacher-facing creation tool. Students use the output, not the tool. It is also narrow by design, and it launched in 2025, so the track record is short.

Best for special education teachers, SLPs and anyone building visual schedules. Not for general classroom planning.

Pricing: freemium, with no public price for the paid tier (verified 4 September 2026).

Safety: FERPA, COPPA and GDPR all declared; hosted in the US; does not collect student data; deletion on request; no independent 9ine assessment.

Best for whole-school planning and reporting: Toddle

If the question is what the school buys rather than what you install, Toddle is the serious answer.

Curriculum planning and mapping, assessments and gradebook, reporting and communication, with AI running through the whole thing rather than sitting beside it. That is the difference from MagicSchool Enterprise, which is a strong tool suite that still leaves your planning in one system and your gradebook in another.

Watch out for: paid only, no public pricing, and our record is blank on FERPA, COPPA, GDPR and hosting despite a 9ine assessment. Also, switching to Toddle is a school decision with a term of migration behind it, not something a teacher does on a Sunday night.

Best for schools consolidating planning, assessment and reporting. Not for individual teachers.

Pricing: paid, quote-based, no public figure (verified 4 September 2026).

Safety: independently assessed by 9ine; FERPA, COPPA, GDPR and hosting not stated in our record. Request the data privacy agreement directly.

When you should stay with MagicSchool

Three cases, stated plainly, because a list that says everything is better than the incumbent is a sales page.

Stay if your district has already signed an enterprise agreement with a custom data privacy agreement and SSO. That approval took months and it is worth more than a marginally better tool.

Stay if you genuinely use the breadth, and some people do: the teacher who plans on Monday, builds a rubric on Tuesday, drafts an IEP on Wednesday and writes the newsletter on Friday is getting real value from one login.

Stay if the alternative you are considering is not on your approved list. A slightly better tool you have to use in secret is worse than an adequate tool your school supports.

How to actually choose

Start with the principle, not the tool. Outsource the doing, not the thinking: let the machine handle the repetitive production work, and keep the professional judgement with the teacher. A tool that drafts feedback for you to review respects that line. A tool that assigns grades and sends them without you does not.

Then three rules you can act on this week.

If you use fewer than four of MagicSchool's tools, unbundle. Name the three jobs, pick the best tool for each, and check whether the total cost is lower than Plus. It often is, because two of the three are free.

If the blocker is procurement, lead with the compliance record, not the feature list. Knowt, EnlightenAI and Glint all declare FERPA, COPPA and GDPR and state where they host. That is a five-minute conversation with your IT director instead of a five-week one.

If students will touch it, the minimum age is the first question, not the last. Glint is 18+ and therefore teacher-only. EnlightenAI is 8+. Knowt and SchoolAI set no minimum, which shifts the decision back onto your consent process rather than the vendor's.

If you want the wider picture before committing, our guide to which AI tools are safe for schools covers the compliance side properly, and the lesson planning comparison goes deeper on planning specifically.

What I'd do this week

Open MagicSchool and look at your output history. Count the distinct tools you have used in the last month. If the number is three or fewer, you have your answer.

Then take the single job you do most often, pick the specialist above, and run it for one class for two weeks. Measure one thing: minutes spent on that task per week, before and after. Not "does it feel better", because everything feels better in week one. Minutes.

If the specialist wins, unbundle the rest. If it does not, you have learned something worth more than the subscription: MagicSchool was already the right call, and you can stop reading alternative lists, including this one.

The bottom line

For most teachers the best MagicSchool alternative is not one product. It is Brisk Teaching for anything inside Google Docs, Diffit for reading levels, and EnlightenAI or Knowt for grading, with SchoolAI added only when students will use AI directly and Glint when the work is special education. If you want a single swap with the cleanest compliance record, it is Knowt. Compare the rest against your own list on the full directory or the MagicSchool alternatives page.

Whatever you pick, keep the judgement. The tool should give you back the twenty minutes, not the decision.

Dan Fitzpatrick is a Forbes contributor, three-time bestselling author and founder of The AI Educator. He has trained more than 150,000 educators across 30+ countries and advises schools, districts and government bodies on AI strategy.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best MagicSchool alternative?

For a single like-for-like swap, Knowt is the strongest option, because it matches most of MagicSchool's assessment and student features while declaring FERPA, COPPA and GDPR compliance with US hosting. For most teachers, though, the better answer is three specialist tools rather than one replacement platform.

Is there a free MagicSchool alternative?

Brisk Teaching is genuinely free for individual teachers, with 20+ tools and unlimited usage. Diffit and Knowt offer free plans with real limits: Diffit's free tier cannot export to Google Docs, Slides or Forms, and Knowt's free plan covers notes and flashcards rather than the teacher tools.

Is MagicSchool AI FERPA compliant?

MagicSchool states on its own FAQ page that it is FERPA and COPPA compliant, holds SOC, GDPR, ESSA and TrustEd Apps certifications, and stores data in US-based data centers. The AI Educator directory record currently shows those fields as not stated, which is a gap in our record rather than in the product.

Why do schools switch away from MagicSchool?

Procurement is the most common reason, not features. A platform with 80+ teacher tools and 50+ student tools is a large vetting surface, and 86% of US districts now run a formal review process for free or unapproved tools (CoSN, 2026). Single-purpose tools clear that process faster.

Is Brisk Teaching better than MagicSchool?

Brisk is better at anything you are already doing inside a Google Doc or Classroom assignment, because it works as a browser extension rather than a separate website. MagicSchool is better if you want breadth in one place. Brisk also ships AI writing detection, which I would not use.

Are these the same as AI marking tools?

Yes. Marking is the UK and Australian term for grading, so an AI marking tool and an AI grading tool describe the same thing. On this list, EnlightenAI and Knowt are the two built to assess student work against a rubric at scale.

Can students under 13 use these tools?

It depends on the tool and on your consent process. Knowt and SchoolAI set no minimum age, EnlightenAI sets 8+, and Glint is 18+ and therefore teacher-only. COPPA makes under-13 student accounts a live procurement question, so check minimum age before piloting anything student-facing.

Need to compare tools? The directory can be filtered by subject, task and audience.

Open the tools directory
D
Dan Fitzpatrick

Delivered training to 150K+ educators | Founder of The AI Educator and AI Educator Tools | Forbes Contributor | International Keynote Speaker | 4 x #1 Bestselling Author