For most US middle and high schools, Knowt is the AI flashcard generator to standardize on, because students can edit every card under a teacher's eye and the vendor signs district data privacy agreements at no cost (Knowt school pricing). If your school already runs Google Workspace for Education, Gemini Notebook makes flashcards from your own documents at no extra charge and Google states the data is not used to train its models (Google for Education). For K-8, Wayground keeps the deck in the teacher's hands, which is the right shape at that age.
The fact that decides most of these purchases is not the AI. It is who holds the account. Flashcards are one of the few classroom tools where the student is the account holder, so the minimum age in the terms, and whether the teacher can see what the student is doing, settle the question before any feature does.
The Six at a Glance
Prices and policy pages were checked on September 16, 2026. The privacy column is what each vendor declares, not an audit; the last column is the independent one.
| Tool | The job it does | Price (checked Sep 16, 2026) | Data hosted | Min age | Independent security assessment | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Knowt | Class-wide decks students build and teachers monitor | Free tier; school and district licenses "as low as $4 per student" | United States | No minimum stated | Yes (9ine) | Whole-class retrieval practice |
| Gemini Notebook | Cards drawn only from documents you upload | Free in all Google Workspace for Education editions | Not stated in directory | All ages when the school admin enables it | No | Schools already on Google Workspace |
| Wayground | Teacher-owned decks inside a familiar quiz platform | Basic free for teachers; school plans by quote | Not stated | Not stated | Yes (9ine) | Elementary and middle school |
| Brainscape | Confidence-rated spaced repetition over months | Free tier; Pro $7.99 a month | United States | No minimum stated | No | Exam courses |
| QuizGecko | Cards plus quizzes from the same source material | Free tier; Plus advertised at $9 a month | Germany (Hetzner), per its DPA | Not stated | No | UK and EU data residency |
| TikoNote | Makes the student explain before it checks | Free tier; $59.99 a year on iOS | United States | 13+ (directory) | No | Older students studying alone |
One column is missing on purpose. None of these tools can be called "FERPA compliant" or "COPPA compliant" as a property of the software, because those laws bind the school, not the vendor. What a vendor can do is sign an agreement and tell you where the data sits. That is what the table records.
Why Should the Student Still Make the Card?
The making of the card is the learning; the flipping of the card is only the check. That is a finding, not a slogan. Pan, Zung, Imundo, Zhang and Qiu ran six experiments with roughly 415 undergraduates and published the results in the Journal of Applied Research in Memory and Cognition in 2022. Students who generated their own digital flashcards beat students given premade cards on tests 48 hours later, by d = 0.45 (95% CI [0.25, 0.66]) on definition questions and d = 0.29 (95% CI [0.12, 0.45]) on application questions. The advantage held against premade sets of both high and low quality. The one condition where premade cards won was when students had to transcribe word for word, which ate the time they needed to practice.
Set that beside what teenagers already do. Pew Research Center surveyed 1,458 US teens and their parents between September 25 and October 9, 2025, and found that 54% say they have used chatbots to get help with schoolwork (Pew Research Center). Turning a PDF into fifty flashcards is about the easiest thing a student can ask a chatbot to do. Left alone, the default outcome is premade cards, made by a machine, from a chapter nobody read.
So the question to ask of each tool below is not how fast it makes cards. It is what it lets the student do once the cards exist.
Which Flashcard Tools Can Under-13s Use?
This is the first filter for any US district, and the directory numbers are less reassuring than they look. Counting the 40 tools in the student engagement and gamification category on September 16, 2026: 13 can be used by students under 13, 13 require 13 or older, 2 require 18, and 12 state no age at all. Twenty-two of the 40 do not say whether they share data with third parties. Nine carry an independent 9ine security assessment.
That silent group is the one to watch. A tool that has not published an age minimum has not decided the question; it has left it to you.
A note on where flashcard tools actually live, because an earlier version of this article looked in one place and found seven candidates. Across the whole directory, nine tools generate flashcards, and they sit in four different categories: student engagement, assessment and grading, lesson planning, and tutoring. Two of the nine hold a 9ine assessment. If you search the directory by category you will miss most of the field.
Knowt: Best for Whole-Class Retrieval Practice
Knowt is the best fit for whole-class retrieval practice because it is the only tool of the six where students build the cards, the teacher can see them doing it, and the school can put controls around the account. Students upload notes, slides or a PDF and Knowt drafts a set; every card is editable, students can write their own hints and distractors, and teachers assign and review sets through the class tools. It imports existing Quizlet and Kahoot sets, which is the sensible way in: migrate what you have rather than start again.
What separates it from Quizlet is the school side. Knowt says it signs data privacy agreements free and within 24 hours, removes ads for students in the organization once the agreement is signed, and prevents students in an organization from holding profiles, buying subscriptions or sharing files outside it (Knowt school pricing).
Watch out for the free tier's shape, which is narrower than it first appears. A free teacher account allows one class, carries ads and has no AI access (Knowt help center). The study library is also vast enough that a student can find a premade set for almost any textbook chapter, which is exactly the shortcut the research warns about. That needs a classroom rule, not a setting: draft your own set first, then compare.
Pricing: for students, Ultra is $24.99 a month or $149.99 a year, about $12.99 a month. For teachers, Ultra is $19.99 a month or $120.00 a year. School and district licenses are quoted "as low as $4 per student". Two of those figures have moved since this article first ran on September 4, 2026, when the same pages showed $12.49 a month equivalent and $2.75 per student; the school price has risen, so budget from a current quote rather than a number in any article, this one included (checked September 16, 2026).
Safety: Knowt lists COPPA, FERPA, NY2D, GDPR, WCAG and SOPPA certifications on its school page, signs district agreements free, and offers admin controls that differ for under-13 and over-13 students. The directory records no minimum age, US hosting, and an independent 9ine assessment. What your district still has to check: whether your own DPA template is the one Knowt signs, and what the AI features are permitted to do with student work under it.
Gemini Notebook: Best for Schools Already on Google Workspace
Gemini Notebook is the best fit for a school already running Google Workspace for Education, because the flashcards come out of documents you chose and the account question is already settled by your admin. Google states it is "available free of charge as a standalone app by signing up for Google for Education Fundamentals" and is "included in all Google Workspace for Education editions free of charge" (Google for Education). It generates flashcards and practice quizzes "based exclusively on the sources you upload", which is the property that matters here: the cards cannot drift away from your material into whatever the model happens to believe.
This is the tool Google renamed from NotebookLM in July 2026, so a search for the old name lands in the right place. Our directory still carries the old name in its description text.
Watch out for the fact that it is a study companion, not a classroom platform. There is no roster, no assignment flow and no teacher view of who studied what, so it sits alongside your LMS rather than replacing any part of it. Access is also not automatic: Google states that teachers and students "must be in a group or OU with NotebookLM set to On" (Google Workspace Updates), so if it does not appear, the fix is an admin console setting rather than a purchase.
Pricing: no cost within Google Workspace for Education editions, and no cost through Google for Education Fundamentals (checked September 16, 2026).
Safety: Google states that for education users it is "available to users of all ages when enabled by their school administrator", and that "your data is not human-reviewed or used to train AI models". The directory record does not state a hosting location or a minimum age, and there is no independent 9ine assessment. What your district still has to check: whether Gemini Notebook is covered by the Workspace agreement you have already signed, since that is where its terms live rather than in a separate contract.
Wayground: Best for Elementary and Middle School
Wayground is the best fit for elementary and middle school because the deck is a teacher artifact, which is the correct shape for a nine-year-old. You make the set, or AI drafts it from your lesson, and students study it as an assignment. Flashcards come with a pre-read mode, so students read the set before being tested on it, and the accommodations on the free plan, including read-aloud, a dyslexia font and translation, sit in the same account. If you teach the youngest students, the elementary post covers what under-13s can use more broadly.
This is the platform formerly known as Quizizz, so a school that already uses it for quizzes gets flashcards without a new vendor review, which in practice is the strongest argument in its favor.
Watch out for the free plan's ceiling and for the blanks in its record. The Basic plan caps activity storage at 20 and students at 100, with limited question types and limited library access (Wayground plans). A busy elementary teacher will reach that by October. The directory record is also blank on hosting, minimum age and third-party sharing, which is a question to put to the vendor rather than a mark against it.
Pricing: the Basic plan is "free for every teacher, forever. No credit card, no commitment." School and district plans are quote-based and no price is published (checked September 16, 2026).
Safety: Wayground holds an independent 9ine assessment. Its directory record states no minimum age, no hosting location and no third-party sharing position. What your district still has to check: all three of those blanks, in writing, before students under 13 hold accounts.
Brainscape: Best for Exam Courses That Need Real Spaced Repetition
Brainscape is the best fit for an exam course because its scheduling is driven by the student's own confidence rating rather than a right-or-wrong tally. The learner rates every card from one to five, and that rating decides when the card returns. AI card creation sits on the free plan, and the cards land in an editor where students rewrite them, which is the behavior you want.
The confidence rating is also the assessment data. A student who marks a card five and then cannot explain it has told you something a completion percentage never would. That is process evidence, of the kind argued for in the post on AI-resistant assessment. For a direct comparison with TikoNote, the directory has a Brainscape versus TikoNote page.
Watch out for the audience. Brainscape was built for exam candidates and professionals, its directory grade tags begin at middle school, and the interface assumes a self-directed learner. Elementary students will bounce off it. Images and audio on cards need Pro.
Pricing: the Basic plan is "free forever" and includes unlimited typed cards, importing, sharing, spaced repetition, progress tracking, 2,500 preloaded cards, and AI generation of "100s of flashcards"; Pro is $7.99 a month and lifts AI generation to unlimited; group licenses are custom (Brainscape pricing). Checked September 16, 2026.
Safety: the directory records US hosting, no minimum age, and no independent 9ine assessment. What your district still has to check: because there is no stated minimum age and no assessment on file, a student-owned Brainscape account is a decision your district makes rather than one the vendor has made for you.
QuizGecko: Best for UK and EU Data Residency
QuizGecko is the best fit for a school that needs student material to stay in Europe, because it is the only one of the six whose own agreement names its hosting. Its data processing agreement states that its primary hosting provider is Hetzner, with Cloudflare for delivery and Google Cloud for infrastructure and AI services, applies UK and EU GDPR, and uses the 2021 Standard Contractual Clauses for transfers (QuizGecko DPA). It turns text, PDFs, videos and web pages into quizzes and flashcards from the same upload, so a teacher building a review lesson gets both artifacts in one pass.
Watch out for how much the agreement puts back on you. The DPA lists 14 sub-processors, including OpenAI, and makes the customer responsible for "obtaining and maintaining valid consent where required", specifically naming the processing of minors' data. That is a normal position for a business tool and a significant one for a school: it means the consent work is yours. QuizGecko's own site says only that "the free plan lets you try Quizgecko with your own material" and directs readers to the plans page for limits, so the free tier's boundaries are not published in a form we could verify.
Pricing: freemium. The plans page advertises studying "all year for $9/month with Plus" alongside a three-day trial; the free plan's specific limits are unverified (checked September 16, 2026).
Safety: GDPR and CCPA compliance are stated in the directory description, and the DPA names hosting in Germany and 14 sub-processors. The directory record states no minimum age and there is no independent 9ine assessment. What your district still has to check: whether routing student work to OpenAI as a sub-processor is permitted under your own agreements, and who in your school owns the consent obligation the DPA assigns to the customer.
TikoNote: Best for Older Students Studying Alone
TikoNote is the best fit for a student who should be explaining rather than flipping, because it is the only one of the six that makes explanation the default action. Its Feynman mode has the learner write a concept in plain words and then gives feedback on the explanation; its blurting mode asks them to write everything they remember before looking; flashcards and mind maps are generated alongside. The student produces, and the AI checks, rather than the reverse.
Watch out for two things, and the second is the reason this sits last. It is an individual study app: no teacher dashboard, no rostering, no class view, so it is a tool you recommend to a student rather than assign to a class. And its own records disagree with each other. The directory lists a minimum age of 13 and the collection of name and email; the App Store lists an age rating of 4+ and states "the developer does not collect any data from this app" (App Store listing). Those cannot both be right, and the gap should be closed by the vendor before a school recommends it to minors.
Pricing: freemium, with iOS in-app purchases at $9.99 a week, $19.99 a month or $59.99 a year. The free tier's limits are not published on a page we could verify (checked September 16, 2026).
Safety: the directory records FERPA, COPPA and GDPR declarations, US hosting, a minimum age of 13 and no independent 9ine assessment. What your district still has to check: the age and data-collection contradiction above, in writing, before the app is named to students.
What About Quizlet, Anki and ChatGPT?
These are the names that come up in every staffroom conversation and every AI-generated answer, so they deserve a straight verdict even though they are not all in the directory.
Quizlet remains an excellent study app for an individual and the largest premade library anywhere, which is precisely its risk in a classroom that cares about the generation effect. Anki is the most powerful spaced-repetition engine on this list by some distance and the least likely to be adopted by a whole class, because its setup cost lands on the learner. Gizmo is built around the same spaced-repetition idea in a lighter, more social package and suits a self-directed teenager. ChatGPT will draft a serviceable deck from pasted notes in seconds, with no teacher view, no roster and no deck that stays put, so it is a drafting tool rather than a study platform. Khanmigo is a tutor rather than a flashcard maker, and is the better choice when the problem is that the student does not yet understand the material well enough for retrieval practice to be the right activity. None of these four is in the aieducator.tools directory yet, so none was assessed against the same fields as the six above.
How Do You Actually Choose?
Split the job into its doing and its thinking, then decide who does each. The doing is formatting, storing, scheduling and shuffling. The thinking is deciding what deserves a card, phrasing the question so it demands recall rather than recognition, and judging whether you really know it. Give the machine the doing. Keep the thinking with the student.
Four questions settle it:
- Who holds the account? If students are under 13, choose from the 13 tools in the category that permit it and keep the deck with the teacher. Wayground fits. A student-owned Brainscape account does not.
- Where does the material go? If the answer has to be Europe, QuizGecko names Hetzner in its agreement. If it has to be inside an agreement you have already signed, Gemini Notebook is inside your Workspace contract.
- Does the student edit before they study? If not, the research says you have bought a shortcut. Knowt's editable cards and student-written hints make a draft-first rule enforceable; a generator with no editor does not.
- What will you look at afterwards? Confidence ratings in Brainscape and explanation scores in TikoNote tell you whether retrieval is happening. Fifty cards made in ten seconds tell you nothing.
A Lesson Plan You Can Run Next Week
Grade 9 biology, one class period, on a topic you have already taught and assessed.
Before the lesson, pick twenty terms from the unit. In the first fifteen minutes, students write five cards each by hand, on paper or in Knowt, with no AI open. In the next fifteen, they upload the same notes and generate a set. For the last twenty, they compare in pairs against two questions written on the board: which of the machine's cards would you keep, and which of yours did the machine miss? Each pair submits a merged deck of fifteen cards and one sentence on what the machine consistently got wrong, which is usually the application questions, the ones that ask a student to use the idea rather than restate it.
You now hold a process artifact for the unit and the students have met the difference between a card that tests recognition and one that tests recall. Run a five-question recall quiz two weeks later and see whether the hand-written cards held. If your wider question is exam season rather than flashcards, the revision and exam prep round-up goes broader, and if you are weighing Knowt against something else, start with the Knowt alternatives page.
The Bottom Line
For most US secondary schools, Knowt is the AI flashcard generator to buy, because students make and edit their own cards under a teacher's eye and the vendor signs district agreements free. If you already run Google Workspace for Education, try Gemini Notebook first, because it is included and its cards stay tied to your sources. Wayground is the free answer for K-8, Brainscape is the answer for exam classes that need genuine spaced repetition, QuizGecko is the one to look at when data has to stay in Europe, and TikoNote is the app to name to an older student who should be explaining rather than flipping. Compare the full field, including the tools left out here, in the aieducator.tools directory.
The cards are cheap now. The remembering never was.
Dan Fitzpatrick is a Forbes contributor, bestselling author and founder of The AI Educator, and has trained more than 150,000 educators across 30+ countries.


