Most AI tools were never built for a nine-year-old. They were built for adults, then given a "for education" landing page. So when an elementary teacher (primary, for UK and Australian readers) asks me which AI tools her class can use, the honest first answer is: fewer than the vendors suggest, and the line that decides it is not the feature list. It is a US federal rule about children under 13, and whether an adult in the room can see what the child typed.
This post is for K-5 teachers, elementary principals and the district people who sign the contracts. It covers tools students use themselves, not the lesson planners and graders that stay on the teacher's screen. Those are in the primary and elementary teachers post.
How This List Was Built
The pool was every student-facing tool in the aieducator.tools directory, 34 in all, narrowed to the ones that let children under 13 in and let the teacher see what happens once they are there. The directory takes no payment for inclusion and vendors cannot buy a place on this list.
Four criteria decided the final six: can a young child use it without reading at an adult level; is there evidence of classroom use rather than a demo; what is the safety posture (COPPA and FERPA first, then minimum age, data hosting and whether an independent security assessment exists); and does it keep the thinking with the child rather than doing it for them.
What I left out, and why. ChatGPT, because a personal account requires the user to be 13 and gives the teacher no view of the conversation. Gemini in Classroom, because Google switched it on by default for students of all ages on 10 August 2026, which makes it a district setting to review rather than a tool a teacher chooses. Khanmigo, because it is not in the directory yet and I only recommend what I can check against the record. Brisk and Diffit, because they are teacher-facing. EchoGuide Pro, a UK reading tool that declares COPPA and a minimum age of four, because it launched in 2026 and I want a year of classroom evidence first. And every student-facing tool whose record does not say where it hosts data.
Pricing, features and compliance claims verified 4 September 2026.
The Under-13 Problem, By the Numbers
The elementary market is thinner than it looks. Of the 90 tools in the directory, 30 state a minimum age below 13 or no minimum at all; 24 say 13 and over, 27 say 16 or 18 and over, and 9 do not state an age. Of the 34 tools tagged as student-facing, exactly half admit children under 13.
Then it thins again. Of those 30 under-13 tools, 15 declare COPPA compliance and only three (Knowt, Kami and EnlightenAI) carry an independent 9ine security assessment. Several of the biggest names in elementary classrooms, including MagicSchool, Wayground and Snorkl, have no minimum age or COPPA status in their directory record, so I checked their own trust pages before writing this. Where a claim below comes from a vendor's page rather than the directory, I say so.
The reason this matters is how COPPA works. The Children's Online Privacy Protection Act lets a school consent on behalf of parents when a service collects a child's data for the school's educational purpose and nothing else. That is the door every tool on this list walks through, and the rule was amended in April 2025. The practical consequence for a principal: the vendor has to say it relies on school consent, and your district has to be comfortable giving it.
Elementary is also the slowest phase to adopt. RAND's September 2025 report found 42 percent of elementary teachers used AI in the 2024-25 school year, against 64 percent in middle school and 69 percent in high school. Slow is fine. Slow and unmonitored is not.
Comparison Table
The privacy column is what the vendor declares, not an audit. The final column is the independent one.
| Tool | Best for | Pricing | Grades | Min age | Privacy (declared) | Data hosted | Independent security assessment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SchoolAI | Monitored AI tutoring | Freemium | All grades | No minimum | FERPA, COPPA (GDPR in progress) | US | No |
| Snorkl | Showing maths thinking aloud | Freemium | Not stated | Not stated (under-13 per vendor) | FERPA, COPPA (vendor page) | Not stated | Yes (9ine) |
| Kami | Accessible reading and annotation | Freemium | All | No minimum | FERPA, COPPA, GDPR | US | Yes (9ine) |
| Wayground | Practice and quick checks | Freemium | Not stated | Not stated (under-13 per vendor) | FERPA, COPPA (vendor page) | Not stated | Yes (9ine) |
| MagicSchool | Teacher-built student rooms | Freemium | K-12 (vendor) | Not stated (school consent per vendor) | FERPA, COPPA (vendor page) | US (vendor page) | Yes (9ine) |
| Knowt | Upper-elementary review | Freemium | All grades | No minimum | FERPA, COPPA, GDPR | US | Yes (9ine) |
Best for monitored AI tutoring: SchoolAI
If a child is going to talk to an AI in your classroom, SchoolAI is the tool where you will see every word of it.
Teachers build a "Space": a bounded activity with a topic, a goal and guardrails, then launch it to the class. Children chat with it in plain language while the teacher's dashboard shows every conversation live, flags safety concerns and lets you drop into any child's chat. Teachers in the directory rate it 4.9 out of 5 across 13 reviews, and the schools I have seen use it well treat the dashboard, not the chat, as the product: a Space that asks children to retell a story earns its place because the teacher can see, live, which children cannot sequence events.
Against MagicSchool's student rooms, SchoolAI's edge is the depth of monitoring and the safety alerts, which the company says it will never put behind a paywall. Against Gemini in Classroom, it is that a teacher can see the chat at all.
Watch out for: the directory record says SchoolAI shares some data with third parties, so read the data privacy agreement before rostering a school, and the free plan now caps you at five Space sessions a year, which is a trial, not a free tier.
Best for: guided AI conversation in grades 2 to 5 with a teacher watching. Not for: unsupervised exploration, which should not be the plan at this age anyway.
Pricing: free trial with five Space sessions per year; Pro and Scale plans for schools and districts are quote-based with no public pricing (verified 4 September 2026).
Safety: FERPA and COPPA declared, no minimum age, data hosted in the US, SOC 2 Type II per the vendor, no independent 9ine assessment yet; GDPR in progress for UK and EU readers.
Best for showing maths thinking aloud: Snorkl
Snorkl lets a seven-year-old explain how she solved a problem out loud, on a whiteboard, and get feedback on the reasoning rather than the answer.
Children record themselves talking and drawing over a prompt. The AI listens, reads the sketch and responds against criteria the teacher set. It is built around exactly the part of learning AI usually erases: the child's own explanation. Directory reviewers rate it 4.75 out of 5, and the reason they give is that it surfaces misconceptions the worksheet hid.
What sets it apart from Wayground or any quiz tool is the input. Voice and drawing suit children who cannot yet type fast enough to show what they know.
Watch out for: the directory record is blank on age, hosting and compliance, and the vendor's pages do not state a minimum age or a hosting location either. They do state FERPA and COPPA compliance with iKeepSafe certification, an agreement that OpenAI does not train on the data, and Common Sense's privacy evaluation lists the product as intended for children under 13. The free plan limits activities.
Best for: maths and science reasoning in grades 1 to 5. Not for: districts that require a stated hosting location; ask for it in writing.
Pricing: free for teachers with limited activities; Premium for schools and districts is quote-based (verified 4 September 2026).
Safety: FERPA and COPPA per the vendor's safety page, minimum age not stated, hosting not stated, independent 9ine assessment held; GDPR not stated.
Best for accessible reading and annotation: Kami
Kami is the safest tool on this list for the youngest readers, because most of what it does is not AI at all.
It turns any PDF or worksheet into something a child can write on, hear read aloud and hand back. Text-to-speech, dictionary look-up and colour overlays are the everyday tools; the AI layer generates formative questions and grades them. For a third grader with dyslexia or an English learner, the read-aloud is the point, and Kami is one of the few tools here that collects no student data according to the directory record.
Against Wayground, Kami works on the materials you already have rather than a library of someone else's. Against SchoolAI, it is calmer: no chat, no open-ended AI, nothing for a child to get lost in.
Watch out for: the free Basic plan covers roughly ten tools, and the accessibility features that matter most sit in the paid Teacher plan. The AI question generator is competent, not remarkable.
Best for: K-3 reading support, special education and accessibility. Not for: anyone wanting an AI tutor.
Pricing: Basic free; Teacher plan $149 per year; school and district plans quote-based (verified 4 September 2026).
Safety: FERPA, COPPA and GDPR declared, no minimum age, data hosted in the US, independent 9ine assessment held, no student data collected per the directory.
Best for practice and quick checks: Wayground
Wayground, still known to most teachers as Quizizz, is the simplest way to put an AI-generated practice set in front of 25 eight-year-olds without any of them needing an account.
Children join with a code. The teacher builds or generates a quiz, lesson or reading passage, and the AI adds accommodations: read-aloud, a dyslexia-friendly font, translation, levelled text. It is the product elementary teachers were already using, with AI where the tedious part used to be.
Against Knowt, Wayground is younger-friendly and does not ask children to manage their own study material. Against Snorkl, it is broader and shallower: quick checks, not reasoning.
Watch out for: the directory record does not state a minimum age or hosting location, and Wayground's plans page blocks automated checks, so I could not verify individual teacher pricing today. Its privacy centre says it complies with FERPA and COPPA, never sells data, and that OpenAI does not train on personal data; Common Sense lists it as intended for children under 13.
Best for: daily practice, exit tickets and reading passages in grades 2 to 5. Not for: anything where you want a child's reasoning rather than a score.
Pricing: Basic plan free; school and district plans quote-based; individual paid tiers exist but could not be verified on the vendor site (verified 4 September 2026).
Safety: FERPA and COPPA per the vendor's privacy centre, minimum age not stated, hosting not stated, independent 9ine assessment held; GDPR not stated.
Best for teacher-built student rooms: MagicSchool
MagicSchool is the pick if your teachers already live in it and you want students in a fenced-off corner of the same platform.
MagicStudent lets a teacher open a room with a chosen tool inside (a writing feedback assistant, a maths coach, a historical figure to interview) and invite the class. Student Room Insights show who is using what. The teacher side is already the most familiar AI platform in US staffrooms, which is the practical reason this makes the list: the training cost is paid.
Against SchoolAI, MagicSchool's rooms are lighter on live monitoring and safety alerting, and the vendor's materials are vaguer about what a teacher sees in real time. Against everything else, it wins on breadth.
Watch out for: the directory record is blank on age and compliance. MagicSchool's children's privacy notice (January 2026) says it relies on COPPA's school-consent exception for under-13 users in the US and stores data in US data centres; the FAQ says student data is never used to train models. It publishes no minimum age; access is "when a school or educator enables it".
Best for: grades 3 to 5 in schools already standardised on MagicSchool. Not for: a first AI tool in K-2; the student side is built for readers.
Pricing: free for teachers, including MagicStudent; Plus at $12.99 per month or $99.96 per year; enterprise pricing on quote (verified 4 September 2026).
Safety: FERPA and COPPA per the vendor's trust pages, minimum age not stated, data hosted in the US per the vendor's children's privacy notice, independent 9ine assessment held; GDPR not stated.
Best for upper-elementary review: Knowt
Knowt is the only tool here that is both cleared for children under 13 and independently assessed for security, and it is the right pick for fourth and fifth graders ready to own their own revision.
Students build flashcards and notes, play live class games and can chat with a teacher-monitored AI tutor. Schools buying site licences can set different sharing, subscription and AI settings for under-13 and over-13 students, the most specific under-13 control I found on any vendor's page.
Against Wayground, Knowt hands the study material to the child, which is a feature at ten and a problem at six. Against SchoolAI, it is a study tool first and a chat tool second.
Watch out for: the product was designed with high school and college in mind, and it shows in the interface and the content library (AP, SAT, GCSE). Below fourth grade it is the wrong tool.
Best for: grades 4 and 5, especially with a site licence. Not for: K-3.
Pricing: free Basic plan; Ultra for teachers at $149.99 per year or $24.99 per month; school and district licences from $2.75 per student with teacher licences included (verified 4 September 2026).
Safety: FERPA, COPPA and GDPR declared, no minimum age, data hosted in the US, independent 9ine assessment held, no data shared with third parties per the directory.
How to Actually Choose
Start from the rule I give every elementary leader: outsource the doing, not the thinking. In K-5 the doing is reading the text aloud, generating the practice set, translating the instructions. The thinking is the child explaining, sequencing, arguing and choosing. A tool that does the second job for a child is a tool for a different age group.
In elementary school, the question is not which AI tool is smartest. It is which one lets the teacher see every word.
Three decision rules:
- If the tool has a chat, you must be able to read it. SchoolAI and Knowt show every message; MagicSchool shows usage. A vendor that cannot show you a child's transcript fails for under-13s whatever its COPPA badge says.
- If the tool asks the child to type, check the grade. Voice and drawing (Snorkl) or join-by-code practice (Wayground) reach K-2. Typed chat starts at grade 3 at the earliest.
- If the record is blank, ask in writing. Minimum age, hosting location and reliance on school consent are questions every vendor here can answer in a day. Two of the six could not answer the hosting question on their own website. Put it in the data privacy agreement.
For district leaders, the Gemini switch belongs on this month's agenda. It arrived on by default, for every age, during back-to-school. Decide whether that is what you want before a parent asks.
What I'd Do This Week
Pick one tool and one class. In grade 2, run a Snorkl activity on a maths problem the class already finds hard and read the explanations, not the scores. In grade 4, launch one SchoolAI Space on a text you are reading anyway and watch the dashboard, not the children. The measure is the same: did you learn something about a child's thinking you did not know on Monday? If not, the tool is doing the thinking, and it goes back in the box.
The Bottom Line
For most elementary schools the shortlist is SchoolAI for monitored AI conversation, Snorkl for reasoning aloud, Kami for accessible reading and Wayground for practice, with MagicSchool and Knowt for schools already invested or teaching the top two grades. Only 30 of the 90 tools in the directory admit children under 13 and only three of those are independently assessed, so the field is small enough to check properly. Compare the rest in the tutoring and personalised learning category, read the independent security assessments before you sign anything, and browse the full directory if your need is more specific. The kindergarten teachers post covers the earliest years, and the school compliance guide goes deeper on the paperwork.
Nine-year-olds do not need smarter machines. They need adults who can see what the machine said.
Dan Fitzpatrick is a Forbes contributor, three-time bestselling author and founder of The AI Educator, and has trained more than 150,000 educators across 30+ countries.


