In a classroom with autistic students, the AI worth paying for makes the materials, not the decisions. Glint is the best fit for visual supports, because it is the only tool in our directory of 138 that was built to produce communication boards, visual schedules and social narratives. Canva for Education is the best fit for editing and reprinting those visuals when a routine changes. ChatGPT for Teachers drafts a social narrative in your own sentences. ScreenPal records a video model of the routine you want to teach. Diffit brings grade-level text within reach, Read&Write reads and writes alongside the student, and MagicSchool turns the notes you have already made into the update that goes home.
Two rules written into policy in the past five weeks decide the rest. Florida's State Board of Education approved rules on September 16, 2026 that bar AI tools using "relationship-building or anthropomorphic design features" and bar AI meant to meet a student's social or emotional needs, require parental consent, and put any AI tool for PreK through grade 5 through an extra approval review before use (WGCU report of the board's decision). New York City's policy, released in September, bars generative AI for students from pre-K to grade 8 with named exceptions including students with disabilities, allows teachers to use approved AI for planning, translation and drafting communications, and forbids teachers from using it for grading, behavior monitoring, counseling or developing special education plans (Chalkbeat).
Read together, those two documents say the same thing a good special education team already believed. The machine makes the visual. The adult who knows the child decides what the visual is for.
The seven tools at a glance
| Tool | The job it does | Price, checked October 4, 2026 | Student data | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Glint | Generates communication boards, visual schedules and social stories | $18 a month or $150 a year; free trial with no published limit; district licensing quoted | Vendor states no student data collected; directory record lists US hosting | The support you need before recess |
| Canva for Education | Edits, lays out and reprints the visuals | Free for verified K-12 educators and their students | Vendor states the education product is FERPA and COPPA compliant with school content filtering | First and then boards you will change weekly |
| ChatGPT for Teachers | Drafts a social narrative or a task analysis from your notes | Free for verified US K-12 educators through June 2028 | OpenAI states inputs are not used to train its models by default in that workspace | Writing in the child's own vocabulary |
| ScreenPal | Records and captions a video model of a routine | Free recorder up to 15 minutes; teacher and school prices quoted, none published | You choose what the camera points at | Video modeling without a film crew |
| Diffit | Rebuilds a text at a reachable reading level | Free plan reaches content made in the last 90 days; school price set by enrollment, not published | Vendor states zero student data collected | Access to the lesson everyone else is doing |
| Read&Write | Reads text aloud, predicts words, takes dictation | Free premium for registered K-12 teachers; district $2.75 a seat, group $18.30 a seat, individual $184 a year | Student use needs a license your district buys | The student who can think it but not type it |
| MagicSchool | Writes up the notes and the family update | Free plan at $0; Plus $12.99 a month, or $8.33 a month billed annually | Vendor states student and teacher data are not used to train AI | Documentation you have already decided on |
The privacy column reports what each vendor declares, not an audit. Our own independent security assessments are the separate check, and four of these seven carry one.
How this list was built
The pool was the 138 tools in the AI Educator Tools directory, read against one question: does this produce something an autistic student can use tomorrow, without the student having to talk to a chatbot to get it? Every price and privacy statement here was checked against the vendor's own live pages on October 4, 2026. No vendor pays for a place on this list and none was asked for one.
Three kinds of tool were left out deliberately. Anything whose product is a conversational companion for the child is out, because Florida's rules now bar exactly that design and because no vendor has published evidence that it helps. Anything that scores, predicts or profiles behavior is out for the same reason. And platforms that need a signed district data agreement before a single student logs in, such as SchoolAI and Knowt, are real products that belong in a procurement conversation rather than in a teacher's Tuesday.
What the directory shows, and it is not flattering
Here is the finding that shaped this list. Of the 138 tools we list, not one listing mentions autism or ASD anywhere in its name, tagline, description or feature list. Exactly one, Glint, mentions communication boards, visual schedules, social stories or task analysis. Meanwhile 13 listings mention dyslexia and 11 declare a dyslexia-friendly mode. Counted October 4, 2026.
So the market has built for dyslexia and has barely begun to build for autism. The 29 tools in our special education and accessibility group show the same thin coverage from another angle: 14 declare FERPA compliance, 12 declare COPPA compliance, 25 state where they host data, and 5 carry an independent security assessment.
That absence is why this post is organized by the practice you are producing rather than by product. The National Clearinghouse on Autism Evidence and Practice, which reviewed the research literature from 1990 to 2017, identifies 28 evidence-based practices for autistic children and young people. Visual supports, video modeling, social narratives, task analysis, modeling and prompting are all on that list (UNC Frank Porter Graham Autism Focused Intervention Resources and Modules). Every tool below exists in this post because it produces one of those six faster than you can by hand.
The right question is not which AI tool is built for autism. It is which evidence-based practice you are short of time to make.
Best for visual supports: Glint
Glint is the best fit for visual supports because it is the only tool in our directory whose stated purpose is producing them, and because it keeps the teacher on the input side of the work.
You type the routine in plain words, "washing hands before snack, six steps", and it returns a board or a schedule with symbols and a natural voice in any of more than 50 languages, in about twenty seconds, on an iPad, a Chromebook or a desktop with no app to install. The vendor says it has produced more than 100,000 visuals and reports 300,000 learners reached (Glint). Those are the company's own usage figures, not an outcome measure.
What sets it apart from Canva is the starting point. Canva gives you a blank page and a template library. Glint gives you a finished first draft of the specific artifact, which matters at 8:40 in the morning when the schedule you need is for a fire drill nobody warned you about.
Watch out for the free tier. The site shows "Try It Free" and publishes no limit on what the trial includes, so budget as though you will be paying. The symbol set is also generated rather than drawn from a standard AAC library, so a student who already reads a specific symbol system may be handed a picture that does not match the one on their device. Check that against the speech-language pathologist's board before you laminate anything.
Pricing: $18 a month, or $150 a year. District licensing with admin controls is quoted rather than published. Free trial limits are not published. Checked on the vendor's pricing page on October 4, 2026.
Safety: the vendor describes the product as FERPA and COPPA aligned, and our directory record lists US data hosting, an 18-plus minimum age and no student data collected, which fits a teacher-facing generator. It carries no independent security assessment in our records. "Aligned" is the vendor's word and it is not the same as a signed agreement, so your district's data office still decides whether a child's name may be typed into it. The safer habit costs nothing: generate the board with "the student", and write the name on by hand.
Best for editing and reprinting: Canva for Education
Canva for Education is the best fit for the visuals you will keep changing, because the whole premium product is free to verified K-12 educators and it leaves you with an editable file rather than a finished image.
A visual schedule has a short shelf life. The specialist comes on Thursdays now, the bus arrives ten minutes earlier, the student has mastered step three and resents being shown it. In Canva you duplicate the page, drag one card out, print, and the laminator does the rest. Magic Write drafts the label text and Magic Resize turns one schedule into a desk strip and a wall poster.
Canva states that the education product is available to K-12 educators, their students and qualified districts, that verification takes a form and usually a document, and that the education environment is FERPA and COPPA compliant with safe-for-school content filtering (Canva for Education).
Watch out for the image generator. Ask it for a picture of a child washing their hands and you may get six fingers, a dreamlike kitchen and a face that unsettles the student you made it for. For visual supports, prefer the photo and symbol libraries, or a photograph of your own sink.
Pricing: free for verified K-12 educators and their students, with all Canva Pro features included. Checked October 4, 2026.
Safety: Canva states the education product is FERPA and COPPA compliant, is a National Data Privacy Agreement signatory and filters content for schools, and it carries an independent security assessment in our records. Our directory record does not state its data hosting location, so ask where your account's files sit if that matters to your district. It holds a 4.62 rating from 39 reviews in our directory, the most-reviewed tool on this list.
Best for drafting a social narrative: ChatGPT for Teachers
ChatGPT for Teachers is the best fit for writing a social narrative because the job is sentence-level writing in a particular child's vocabulary, and the education workspace is free to verified US K-12 educators through June 2028.
Give it the shape rather than asking it for a story. Describe the situation, the behavior you want to describe, four sentences of the child's own phrasing, and the reading level, and ask for a first-person narrative with a line that names what the child can do, no praise words, and no villain. Then cut a third of it. OpenAI says ChatGPT for Teachers is free through June 2028 for staff at accredited US K-12 schools, that verification runs through a school email address, and that what you share is not used to train its models by default (OpenAI help center).
This exact use has now been studied. A study of AutiHero, a system that generated personalized multi-path social narratives for autistic children, reports 218 stories created over two weeks, an average of 13.63 per parent, positive perceived changes in 76 percent of the target behaviors, and parents editing 27 percent of the generated stories themselves. The authors also record the warning that matters most here: experts flagged the risk of "overly controlling or punitive framing" of autistic traits such as stimming, and noted that a parent choosing the topic may pick a behavior for personal reasons rather than an evidence-based priority (Lee and colleagues, arXiv, April 2026). That finding is about parent-written stories, not teacher-written ones, and it is the strongest reason to read every draft twice before it reaches a child.
Watch out for the model's instinct to praise and to moralize. Left alone it writes "I will be a good friend and everyone will be happy", which teaches a child to perform contentment. Ask for description, not virtue.
Pricing: free through June 2028 for verified US K-12 educators, and OpenAI says it will give notice if that changes. Consumer subscriptions sit outside the education offer and are not covered here. Checked October 4, 2026.
Safety: OpenAI states that content shared in ChatGPT for Teachers is not used to train its models by default and that automated systems may classify content for safety and quality. The account is the safeguard, not the model: the consumer app is a different product with different settings. ChatGPT carries an independent security assessment in our records and holds a 4.35 rating from 23 reviews. A social narrative needs the child's name, so write the draft with "the student" and add the name in your own document.
Best for video modeling: ScreenPal
ScreenPal is the best fit for video modeling because the free recorder handles 15 minutes without an account, which is about 14 minutes more than a routine needs.
Video modeling is one of the 28 practices on the NCAEP list and it is the one teachers skip, because filming feels like a project. It is not. Point a phone or a laptop at your own hands and narrate the six steps of lining up. Record it once, trim the dead air, add captions, and it becomes the thing a student watches twice before the transition instead of hearing a fifth verbal prompt.
What sets it apart from filming on a phone and sharing a file is the captioning and the link. A captioned video with a URL can go into the student's own folder, to a paraprofessional covering the room, and home to a family practicing the same routine, without anyone needing the app.
Watch out for who is on camera. A video model of the teacher, or of the student's own hands, is a teaching material. A video of other children is a record of those children, and that needs consent and a policy behind it. Film yourself.
Pricing: the free recorder allows videos up to 15 minutes long and requires no account. Teacher and school plans are referenced on the education pages but no figures are published there, so treat school cost as quote-based (ScreenPal for education). Checked October 4, 2026.
Safety: our directory record does not state its data hosting, FERPA or COPPA position and it carries no independent security assessment, so this is a tool to use for your own recordings rather than a place to store anything about a student. It holds a 4.67 rating from 3 reviews in our directory. Keep the videos in your district's own storage once they exist.
Best for reaching grade-level text: Diffit
Diffit is the best fit for text access because it rebuilds the same content at several reading levels with vocabulary and questions attached, and the vendor states it collects zero student data.
An autistic student who reads two grades below the class is not helped by a different, easier topic. They are helped by the same topic, in sentences they can enter. Paste the article, pick the level, and you have a version that lets the student join the discussion everyone else is having. Keep the images, keep the vocabulary list, and let the student mark the two words they want explained.
What sets it apart from asking a general assistant to simplify a passage is the structure that comes back: leveled text, vocabulary, questions and a graphic organizer, in a format you can print without reformatting.
Watch out for the free plan's clock. The free tier reaches content made in the last 90 days, so the leveled version you built in September will drop out of reach in December unless you exported it. Export as you go.
Pricing: the free plan reaches content made in the last 90 days. Diffit for Schools adds export to Google and Microsoft formats, standards alignment and an admin dashboard, and is priced by student enrollment with no public figure, so school cost is quote-based (Diffit pricing). Checked October 4, 2026.
Safety: the vendor states zero student data collected, which is the strongest privacy position of any tool here. Our record does not state FERPA or COPPA status or hosting, and it carries no independent security assessment. You paste text in, so keep student work out of it unless your district says otherwise. It holds a 4.20 rating from 5 reviews in our directory.
Best for reading and writing access: Read&Write
Read&Write is the best fit for the student who can think a sentence but cannot get it onto the page, because the premium feature set is free to registered K-12 teachers and the tools sit on top of whatever the class is already using.
Text to speech reads the worksheet. Word prediction finishes a word the student can hear but not spell. Dictation takes the answer by voice. Translation handles a home language. None of that writes for the student, which is the point: the thinking stays theirs and the mechanics stop being the barrier.
What sets it apart from a browser's built-in reader is the toolbar following the student across Google Docs, PDFs and the web, so the support does not vanish when the task changes. The vendor, now part of Everway, says Read&Write is free for K-12 teachers with access to premium features (Everway).
Watch out for the gap between the teacher offer and the student reality. Your free account does not give your students anything. Student access runs on licenses the school buys, and the published US figures are $18.30 a seat for a K-12 group with a 150-seat minimum, $2.75 a seat at district scale, and $184 a year for an individual license (Read&Write pricing). Teaching a student to depend on a tool they lose in June is worse than not starting.
Pricing: free premium access for registered K-12 teachers; K-12 group $18.30 a seat with a 150-seat minimum; district $2.75 a seat; individual $184 a year, billed annually. Checked October 4, 2026.
Safety: our directory record lists it as a special education and accessibility tool and it carries an independent security assessment, which is unusual in this group and worth something in a procurement conversation. The record does not state its hosting location. It holds a 4.50 rating from 2 reviews.
Best for the write-ups: MagicSchool
MagicSchool is the best fit for the documentation you have already decided on, because its free plan carries more than 80 teacher tools and it is the platform most US districts have already approved.
The progress note, the family update, the paragraph summarizing three weeks of data you collected yourself: that is drafting work, and drafting is what this platform does well. You supply the judgment and the facts. It supplies the prose, in a register a family can read.
Watch out for the parts of it built for behavior and for individualized education programs. Common Sense Media assessed four AI teacher assistants on August 6, 2025, including MagicSchool, Khanmigo's Teacher Assistant, Google Classroom's Gemini Teacher Assistant and Curipod, rated the category moderate risk, and advised educators plainly: "Avoid high-stakes uses: Don't use AI for critical documents like individualized education plans or behavior plans that require comprehensive student data" (Common Sense Media). New York City's policy now says the same thing as a rule for its teachers. Use the platform for the write-up, not for the plan.
Pricing: free plan at $0 with more than 80 teacher tools; Plus $12.99 a month billed monthly, or $8.33 a month billed annually; Enterprise quoted, with a custom data privacy agreement and single sign-on (MagicSchool pricing). Checked October 4, 2026.
Safety: MagicSchool states that student and teacher data are not used to train AI and describes itself as SOC 2 certified, and it carries an independent security assessment in our records. What that does not tell you is whether your district has signed a data agreement, which is the document that actually governs what you may type. It holds a 4.74 rating from 19 reviews in our directory. Ask your technology office before a student's name goes in.
The big names, briefly
Khanmigo is a capable tutoring assistant and was one of the four tools in the Common Sense assessment. Use it for academic support, not for behavior documents (Khanmigo).
Gemini Notebook, which Google renamed from NotebookLM in July 2026, answers only from the sources you upload. Load your district's autism toolkit and your state's guidance, not a student's file. Its free tier allows 100 notebooks and 50 sources per notebook (Gemini Notebook help), and it holds the directory's highest review count, 4.84 from 90 reviews.
SchoolAI gives teachers live sight of student AI conversations, which is a genuine strength in a middle or high school. It also collects student data and needs a district agreement, and in a pre-K to grade 8 classroom in New York City students may not use generative AI at all.
Quizlet and Knowt are study tools. Neither has an autism-specific function, and Knowt needs a district agreement before students use it.
AI companion and "friend" apps marketed for autistic children are the category to refuse. Florida's rules now bar anthropomorphic, relationship-building design and AI intended to meet a student's social or emotional needs. There is no published evidence that a chatbot friend teaches social communication, and there is a professional on your staff whose job that is.
How should you choose an AI tool for an autistic student?
Four questions, in this order. They take a minute and they rule out most of what gets recommended in a Facebook group.
- Which evidence-based practice am I producing? If the answer is a visual support, a video model, a social narrative or a task analysis, there is a tool above for it. If you cannot name the practice, the tool is not the problem.
- Does this tool need the child's name? A board for washing hands does not. A video of your own hands does not. If the tool needs identifying detail to be useful, that is a district data question, not a personal one.
- Does it talk to the child? A generator hands you a material and stops. A companion keeps talking. The first is a teaching aid, the second is now barred in Florida and restricted for young students in New York City.
- Who reviews it before the student sees it? For a communication board, the speech-language pathologist. For anything touching behavior, the person who owns the plan. The review is the work; the generation was the easy part.
Outsource the doing, not the thinking. In an autism classroom that line is unusually clear: laminating, drawing, leveling and typing are doing, and deciding what a child needs next is thinking.
A worked example: one Tuesday in a grade 2 classroom
Here is a plan for a single student and a single transition, written as a plan rather than as a memory.
A student, call her M, melts down at the move from recess to math. She is fine at recess. She is fine in math. The ninety seconds between them, in a loud corridor with a bathroom stop, is where it goes wrong. You have fifteen minutes of prep time.
Minutes 1 to 3. Write the transition out in six steps in your own words: line up at the gate, walk on the left, bathroom, drink, hang the coat, sit on the dot. No tool yet. This is the thinking.
Minutes 4 to 6. Put those six steps into Glint and get a visual schedule with symbols and voice. Print two: one for M's desk, one for the gate.
Minutes 7 to 9. Open ChatGPT for Teachers. Ask for a six-sentence first-person narrative using M's own phrases for the corridor, with one line naming what she can do and no praise words. Cut the two sentences that moralize.
Minutes 10 to 13. Record a 40-second video on your laptop with ScreenPal: your own hands and feet doing the six steps, narrated in the same words as the schedule. Caption it. Share the link with the paraprofessional who walks with her.
Minutes 14 to 15. In Canva, duplicate the schedule page and save it. You will be editing it in a fortnight when the bathroom stop comes out.
What stays with you across all fifteen minutes: the decision that the corridor was the problem, the words M uses, and the judgment about when to fade the schedule. No tool above touched any of those.
The bottom line
For autistic students, buy the material-maker and keep the decision. Glint for visual supports, Canva for Education to edit and reprint them, ChatGPT for Teachers for the social narrative, ScreenPal for the video model, Diffit for text access, Read&Write for reading and writing, MagicSchool for the write-up. Not one tool in our directory of 138 claims to be built for autism, which tells you that the expertise in the room is still yours, and the software is there to save your hands.
If you are choosing for a whole team rather than your own room, start with the special education and accessibility category and the independent security assessments, which tell you which vendors have been examined by somebody other than their own marketing department. Teams who share this work will also want the companion guides to tools for speech-language pathologists, what paraprofessionals can hand to AI, tools for students with dyslexia and, where the gap is number sense rather than reading, special education math software. For the paperwork itself, the guide to AI tools for IEP writing covers what the law and the research allow, and UK readers working to an EHCP rather than an IEP will find the same ground in the guide to tools that ease SEND paperwork.
Dan Fitzpatrick is The AI Educator. He has trained more than 150,000 educators, writes for Forbes and has written four number one bestselling books on AI in education. More from Dan.


